John David Booty Named Semifinalist For Davey O'Brien Award

Nov. 7, 2006

Junior quarterback John David Booty has been named one of 18 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually by the Davey O'Brien Foundation to the nation's best college signalcaller.

Booty, who is also a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award as the nation's top player, has completed 62.5% (167-of-267) passes in 2006 for 1,966 yards and 19 touchdowns with just 5 interceptions. He currently is 19th nationally in total offense (241.6). His 167 completions in 2006 ranks him 14th on USC's season passing list and his 201 career completions ties him for 13th on the USC all-time chart. He has thrown a TD pass in each of his starts in 2006, including 6 games with at least 2 TD throws and 5 with 3 TDs. He was the first prep football player to graduate a full year early from high school and enroll at a major university when he did so at USC in 2003.

Joining Booty as semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are: Erik Ainge, Tennessee; John Beck, BYU; Colt Brennan, Hawai'i; Brian Brohm, Louisville; Chad Henne, Michigan; Kevin Kolb, Houston; Chris Leak, Florida; Nate Longshore, California; Colt McCoy, Texas; Tyler Palko, Pittsburgh; Brady Quinn, Notre Dame; Bobby Reid, Oklahoma State; JaMarcus Russell, LSU; Troy Smith, Ohio State; John Stocco, Wisconsin; Pat White, West Virginia; Jared Zabransky, Boise State.

The O'Brien Selection Committee, made up of a nationwide panel of sportswriters, commentators and former O'Brien Award winners, will vote later in November to narrow the field again. The three finalists will be announced Nov. 21.

The winner of the 2006 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards Show scheduled for December 7 at 7 p.m. EST. The show will air live from the Atlantic Dance Hall on The Boardwalk at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida. The winner will then be honored on Feb. 19, 2007, at the 30th annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth, Texas, along with Paul Hornung, recipient of the 2006 Davey O'Brien Legends Award, and the O'Brien High School Scholarship Award winner.

Celebrating 30 years, the O'Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks. The Davey O'Brien Foundation was established in 1977 to present the O'Brien Memorial Trophy, recognizing an outstanding college football player in the five southwestern states of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981, the award was redirected to be national in scope but limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the award's namesake, Davey O'Brien. The award carries with it a $10,000 grant to the scholarship program of the university in which the winner is enrolled.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder