Eight Bruins Selected To All-Pac-10 Men's Soccer Team

Nov. 9, 2006

Eight members of the UCLA men's soccer team were selected to the 2006 Men's Soccer All-Pac-10 team. Junior defender Mike Zaher and sophomore midfielder Sal Zizzo earned first-team honors, while freshman forward David Estrada, sophomore forward Jason Leopoldo and senior defender Kiel McClung received second-team acclaim. Freshman midfielder Kyle Nakazawa, senior goalkeeper Eric Reed and sophomore defender Brad Rusin earned honorable mention nods.

Zaher (Las Vegas, Nev./Bishop Gorman HS) has been Mr. Dependable for the Bruins at the left back position, providing a steady presence in the back while also scoring two goals and one assist. Zaher has played and started in 18 games this season, logging 1714 minutes, second-most on the team. This is Zaher's first conference honor of his career.

Zizzo (San Diego, Calif./Patrick Henry HS) leads UCLA and ranks second in the Pac-10 with eight assists. He ranks third on the Bruin squad in scoring with 12 points and received Top Drawer Soccer National Team of the Week honors for the week of Oct. 8 after providing two assists in the 3-1 win at UC Santa Barbara and assisting on the Bruins' first goal in the 2-1 win at San Diego State. Zizzo was last year's Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and a second-team All-Pac-10 selection.

Estrada (Salinas, Calif./Alisal HS) leads UCLA in scoring with 19 points off eight goals and three assists. Estrada, the leading freshman scorer in the Pac-10, is currently on a four-game goal scoring streak. He has scored a goal in seven of his last eight games.

Leopoldo (Thousand Oaks, Calif./Thousand Oaks HS) earns his first conference honor. He ranks second on the Bruin squad in scoring with 15 points (six goals, three assists) and leads the team with three game-winning goals.

McClung (Palmdale, Calif./Quartz Hill HS) also earns his first conference honor. The senior team co-captain played in 18 games and had one goal and two assists.

Nakazawa (Palos Verdes Estates, Calif./Edison Academic Center) ranks second on the Bruin team with four assists and is fifth in scoring with 10 points. Reed (Mission Viejo, Calif./Laguna Hills HS) earns his third career All-Pac-10 honor. He has started in 12 games this year, going 7-4-1 with three shutouts. Rusin (Holmes Beach, Fla./St. Stephen's Prep) was selected to the honorable mention team for the second year in a row. He has played in 16 games with 11 starts this season.

Washington junior forward Kevin Forrest was selected the Player of the Year, San Diego State defender Nick Cardenas was Freshman of the Year, and California head coach Kevin Grimes earned Coach of the Year honors for the second-straight year.

2006 Pac-10 First Team All-Conference
Ely Allen F Sr. WASH
Javier Ayala-Hil F Jr. CAL
Eric Ebert MF Sr. CAL
Robbie Findley** F Sr. OSU
Kevin Forrest* F RsJr. WASH
Tally Hall* GK Sr. SDSU
Ty Harden* D Sr. WASH
Andrew Jacobson* MF RsJr. CAL
Steve Purdy D Sr. CAL
Mike Zaher D Jr. UCLA
Sal Zizzo MF So. UCLA

2006 Pac-10 Second Team All-Conference
Raul Bautista MF RsSr. SDSU
Scott Bolkan D Jr. STAN
Nick Cardenas D Fr. SDSU
David Estrada F Fr. UCLA
Matt Fischer D Sr. WASH
George John MF So. WASH
Jason Leopoldo MF/F So. UCLA
Kiel McClung D Sr. UCLA
Evan Morgan MF Jr. STAN
Michael Strickland MF Fr. STAN
Galen Thompson MF/D Sr. STAN

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree
**three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

2006 Pac-10 Honorable Mention All-ConferenceKraig Chiles (RsJr., MF, SDSU); Alex Christensen (Jr., D, OSU); Andrew DiCicco (Sr., F, SDSU); Brett Gardner (Jr., D/MF, OSU); Nick Hatzke (RsSr., MF, CAL); Rylan Hawkins (RsFr., GK, WASH); Kyle Hency (RsJr., D/MF, STAN); Hector Jimenez (Fr., MF, CAL); Bryan Jordan (Sr., F, OSU); Jo Jo Katz (So., MF, WASH); Imaan Kerchgani (Fr., MF, CAL); Daniel Leach (So., D, OSU); John Moore (Fr., GK, STAN); Justin Myers (RsJr., GK, CAL); Kyle Nakazawa (Fr., MF, UCLA); T.J. Novak (So., MF/F, STAN); Danny Ortiz (So., D, SDSU); Eric Reed (Sr., GK, UCLA); Brad Rusin (So., D, UCLA); Dennis Sanchez (So., D, SDSU); Luke Sassano (Fr., MF/F, CAL); Dan Shapiro (Jr., F, STAN); Bret Shimizu (Sr., MF, STAN); Jacob Wilson (RsSo., MF, CAL).

Pac-10 Player of the Year: Kevin Forrest, WASH
Pac-10 Freshman of the Year: Nick Cardenas, SDSU
Pac-10 Coach of the Year: Kevin Grimes, CAL

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder