Eight UCLA women's soccer players Earn All-Pac-10 Honors

Nov. 9, 2006

Complete List of 2006 All-Pac-10 Honors

Los Angeles - First-team selections Lauren Cheney, Christina DiMartino and Danesha Adams headlined a group of eight UCLA women's soccer players who received All-Pac-10 honors on Thursday. In addition to her selection to the first team, Cheney was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. Goalkeeper Valerie Henderson was named to the second team.

It marks the second such honor for Adams (Jr./Shaker Heights, Ohio), as she was also named to the first team after leading the Pac-10 in scoring as a sophomore in 2005. She ranks second on the team in scoring this season with 17 points on seven goals and three assists. She also has five game winners. Adams is on the Watch List for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy, given annually to the top player in college soccer.

An honorable mention selection a year ago, DiMartino (So./Massapequa, NY) was named to the first team after tying for the team lead in assists with five. She ranks third on the team in scoring with 13 points (4g, 5a), as one of the Bruins top playmakers.

Cheney (Indianapolis, Ind.) becomes the third UCLA player to earn Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honors, following Sommer Hammoud in 1997 and Jessica Winton in 1999. She leads the Pac-10 in points (30), goals (15), and goals per game (0.94). She also leads the Bruins and ranks second in the conference in game-winning goals with seven. Cheney did all that despite missing the first four matches of the season while playing with the U-20 U.S. National Team.

Henderson (Jr./Orinda, Calif.), who was a first-team selection in 2005, was the only Bruin named to the second team. She ranks second in the conference in goals against average (0.56) and shutouts (8). She owns a 14-2 record this season and will set a new school record for career victories with her next win, as she currently has 52. She also joins Adams on the Watch List for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy.

Earning honorable mention acclaim Thursday were Erin Hardy (So./Costa Mesa, Calif), Stacy Lindstrom (Sr./Laguna Niguel, Calif.) and Bristyn Davis (Locust Valley, NY).

Kristina Larsen (Fr./Mission Viejo, Calif.) and Cheney were named to the All-Freshman Team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network