Zach Miller Named John Mackey Award Semifinalist

Nov. 17, 2006

Arizona StateUniversity's junior tight end Zach Miller was named one of eight semi-finalists for the 2006 John Mackey Award, the Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC) announced Friday.


On the year, Miller leads the Sun Devils and all Pacific-10 Conference tight ends in receptions (37), and leads ASU in receiving yards (384), and is tied for the team-lead in touchdown catches (three) as a starter in all 10 games. He has caught a pass in each game this season, and at least four passes in seven games, with season-highs of six catches for 84 yards in ASU's 47-14 victory over WashingtonState on Nov. 11.


Since the start of the 2004 season, Miller is the nation's leader among tight ends in career receptions (131) and receiving touchdowns (13), and ranks third in receiving yards (1,412). He also stands as ASU's active career leader in all three receiving categories.


The 6-5, 259-pound Phoenix, Ariz. Native is ASU's all-time leader in receptions by a tight end, and ranks second in school history behind current Baltimore Raven Todd Heap in receiving yards by a tight end.  Miller has also caught at least one pass in 30 of 32 career games, including an active ASU record streak of 17 consecutive contests.


In addition to his performance on the field, Miller has been recognized for his achievements in the classroom, recently earning first-team Pac-10 All-Academic honors.


Miller joins fellow semi-finalists Travis Beckum (Soph., Wisconsin), Martellus Bennett (Soph., Texas A&M), John Carlson (Jr., Notre Dame), Chase Coffman (So., Missouri), Jonny Harline (Sr., BYU), Joe Newton (Sr., Oregon State) and Matt Spaeth (Sr., Minnesota).


The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee. The 2006 recipient of 'The Mackey' will be announced on December 7, 2006 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show live on ESPN and presented at the Nassau County Sports Commission Annual Awards Dinner on April 30, 2007.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame Tight End John Mackey. The Nassau County Sports Commission is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization that promotes sports and healthy lifestyle for NassauCounty residents and is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.


Tight End Statistics (2004-06) updated 11-13-06



1. Zach Miller, Jr., Arizona State            131    

2. Ben Patrick, Sr., Duke                        120    

3. Samuel Smith, Sr., Florida International 112    

4. Scott Chandler, Sr., Iowa                   112    

5. Clark Harris, Sr., Rutgers                     110    

6. Jonny Harline, Sr., BYU                       104    

7. Martin Rucker, Jr., Missouri                  102    

8. Matt Spaeth, Sr., Minnesota                 92    

9. Kory Sperry, Jr., Colorado State            85     

10. Joe Newton, Sr., Oregon State            84     

11. Brent Celek, Sr., Cincinnati                 83      


Receiving Yards

1. Clark Harris, Sr., Rutgers                      1,556

2. Jonny Harline, Sr., BYU                        1,416

3. Zach Miller, Jr., Arizona State               1,412

4. Scott Chandler, Sr., Iowa                     1,406

5. Samuel Smith, Sr., Florida International   1,183

6. Matt Spaeth, Sr., Minnesota                 1,151

7. Martin Rucker, Jr., Missouri                   1,145

8. Kory Sperry, Jr., Colorado State            1,093

9. Joe Newton, Sr., Oregon State             1,035

10. Greg Olson, Jr., Miami (Fl.)                 1,016


Receiving Touchdowns

1. Zach Miller, Jr., Arizona State              13

1. Brent Celek, Sr., Cincinnati                  13

3. Jonny Harline, Sr., BYU                       12

4. Clark Harris, Sr., Rutgers                     11

4. Joe Newton, Sr., Oregon State             11

4. Matt Spaeth, Sr., Minnesota                11

7. Darius Hill, Jr., Ball State                     10

7. Kory Sperry, Jr., Colorado State           10

9. Scott Chandler, Sr., Iowa                     9

9. Martin Rucker, Jr., Missouri                   9

9. Dan Murray, Sr. Connecticut                 9

12. Brad Wood, Sr., Arizona                      7

12. Chris Hopkins, Sr., Toledo                   7

12. Shawn Nelson, So., Southern Miss.       7


Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder