Reffett Takes Flaherty Award At Awards Banquet

Nov. 20, 2006

SEATTLE -- Husky junior defensive tackle Jordan Reffett took top honors at the Washington football team's annual awards banquet when he was named the winner of the Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational Award. The annual banquet was held Monday evening at the Westin Hotel in downtown Seattle.

Reffett, from Moses Lake, Wash., moved into the starting lineup in the second half of the season, starting a total of five games. He finished the season with 23 total tackles, including three sacks. The Flaherty Award, named after its first winner in 1908, is Washington's oldest and most prestigious individual award.

Senior quarterback Isaiah Stanback (Seattle, Wash.) was named the team's offensive most valuable player while senior strong safety C.J. Wallace (Sacramento, Calif.) was the defensive MVP. Stanback, who missed the season's final five games after suffering a foot injury Oct. 14 vs. Oregon State, passed for 1,325 yards, 10 touchdowns and only three interceptions in his seven starts. Wallace led the team and was fourth in the Pac-10 with 105 tackles. He started all 12 games.

Washington's MVP awards are voted on by members of the team.

Stanback and Wallace were also honored as two of the team's four captains, along with fellow seniors Dashon Goldson and Sonny Shackelford.

Shackelford also won the Sports Radio 950 KRJ Most Outstanding Player Award for the offense while senior linebacker Scott White took home that trophy for the defense. Senior punter Sean Douglas won the Special Teams Most Outstanding Player Award.

Senior offensive guard Clay Walker, junior defensive end Greyson Gunheim and sophomore defensive end Daniel Te'o-Nesheim took home awards for their play on the lines. Nesheim was the winner of the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Award while Walker and Gunheim were named the the John P. Angel Outstanding Offensive and Defensive Lineman, respectively. Gunheim won that award for the second straight season. Senior fullback Mark Palaita was presented with the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award while junior safety C.J. Wallace won the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award for the second straight season.

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to junior receiver Quintin Daniels on offense while junior linebacker Dan Howell took the Most Improved honor on defense. The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards winners were fullback Paul Homer on offense and linebacker Donald Butler on defense. Husky Fever 12th Man Awards were presented to junior tailback Louis Rankin on offense and senior defensive end Brandon Ala on defense.

Senior receiver Alex Mercier picked up the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award, presented to the student-athlete who excels on the field and volunteers extensively in the community. Mercier spearheaded production of the 'Husky Nation' CD, which benefitted the Soulumination charity. Junior center Juan Garcia won the Academic Excellence Award while junior receiver Cody Ellis took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to senior tailback Shelton Sampson while freshman defensive lineman Cameron Elisara was announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Players of the Year Award was awarded to sophomore linebacker Josh Gage.

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Justin Carter, a student assistant on the Husky training staff, and to student equipment manager Ian Tushar.

2006 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Jordan Reffett

Team MVP Award
Isaiah Stanback (Offense)
C.J. Wallace (Defense)

Sports Radio 950 KJR Players of the Year
Sonny Shackelford (Offense)
Scott White (Defense)Sean Douglas(Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player
Quintin Daniles (Offense)
Dan Howell (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Clay Walker (Offense)
Greyson Gunheim (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim

101 Club Academic Award
Cody Ellis

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Mark Palaita

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
C.J. Wallace

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Alex Mercier

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Shelton Sampson

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Cameron Elisara

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Joshua Gage

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Paul Homer (Offense)
Donald Butler (Defense)

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Louis Rankin (Offense)
Brandon Ala (Defense)

Academic Excellence Award
Juan Garcia

Captains Award
Dashon Goldson, Sonny Shackelford, Isaiah Stanback, C.J. Wallace

Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award
Ian Tushar (Equipment Room Staff)
Justin Carter (Athletic Training Staff)

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder