Annual Award Winners Announced at Sunday's Football Awards Banquet

Nov. 26, 2006

TEMPE, Ariz. -


Following its 28-14 win over rival Arizona Saturday, the Arizona State University Football team held its annual Awards Banquet Sunday, November 26.


Junior tight end Zach Miller (Phoenix, Ariz.) was given ASU's Most Valuable Offensive Player of the Year Award. Miller, a semifinalist for the Mackey Award, presented to the nation's top tight end, totaled team-highs of 49 receptions for 481 yards and four touchdowns in 12 regular season games in 2006.  Miller was also given the Cecil Abono Team Captain Award, along with the Pat Tillman Valor Award.


The recipient of the 2006 Most Valuable Defensive Player of the year was junior safety Josh Barrett (Reno, Nev.). Barrett was also presented the Cecil Abono Team Captain Award.  Barrett led the team with 74 total tackles on the regular season, and added 7.5 tackles-for-loss and two interceptions.


Junior wide receiver Tyrice Thompson (Phoenix, Ariz.) was given the 2006 Special Teams Iron Man Award. Thompson played in 11 games as a reserve wide receiver and special teams coverage specialist.


The 2006 Babe Alex Demon Special Teams Player of the Year Award was given to senior safety Zach Catanese (Redding, Calif.). Catanese started all 12 regular season games at safety and ranked third on the team in total tackles (58), while adding two interceptions.


The award for Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman was given to junior center Mike Pollak (Tempe, Ariz.), and the award for Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman was presented to senior defensive end Kyle Caldwell (Scottsdale, Ariz.).  Pollak was also given the Cecil Abono Team Captain Award.  Pollak anchored the Sun Devil offensive line as a starter in all 12 games at center for the Sun Devils, while Caldwell totaled 29 tackles, four tackles-for-loss and 1.5 sacks.


Junior defensive tackle Michael Marquardt (Vista, Calif.) was presented with the Clyde B. Smith Award for academic achievement in 2006. In his first year at ASU, Marquardt totaled 24 tackles, 7.5 tackles-for-loss and 3.5 sacks.


Defensive end Dexter Davis (Phoenix, Ariz.) won the Bill Kajikawa Sun Devil Award, given to the year's most outstanding freshman. Davis led all ASU defensive linemen with 37 tackles, and achieved team-highs of 8.5 tackles-for-loss, five sacks and three forced fumbles on the year.


Offensive Lineman Paul Fanaika (Milbrae, Calif.) earned the Mike Bartholomew Most Improved Offensive Player Award.  The Gail Scott Most Improved Defensive Player Award was presented to senior linebackers Beau Manutai (Rialto, Calif.) and Derron Ware (Los Angeles, Calif.). Fanaika, a former walk-on now on scholarship, was a key contributor along the Sun Devil offensive line after season-ending injuries to seniors Stephen Berg and Andrew Carnahan.  Manutai was ASU's second-leading tackler (60) and added 5.5 tackles-for-loss, while Ware accounted for 29 tackles on the year, six of which were for losses, and finished second on the team with four sacks.


Freshman quarterback Dax Crum (Phoenix, Ariz.) was the recipient of the 2006 McBurney Scout Team Player of the Year Award, while linebacker Chad Lindsey (Houston, Texas) earned the Glen Hawkins Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year Award.


Senior offensive tackle Andrew Carnahan (Hereford, Texas) and senior defensive tackle Jordan Hill (Pocatello, Idaho) were both awarded the Tim Landers Iron Man Award, given to the Sun Devil with exemplary work ethic in the weight room, on the field or in the community. Hill was also given the Cecil Abono Team Captain Award.  Carnahan, a semifinalist for the 2006 Draddy Trophy, started four games before being injured, and Hill played in all 12, totaling 24 tackles (3.5 for loss) and 2.5 sacks on the season.


Camp Tontozona Awards were given to junior offensive lineman Brandon Rodd (Aiea, Hawai'i) and junior defensive back Josh Barrett. The special teams Most Valuable Player was senior safety Zach Catanese, the most improved players were sophomore offensive lineman Paul Fanaika and sophomore defensive lineman David Smith (Chandler, Ariz.), while most valuable newcomer recognition went to junior tailback Ryan Torain (Shawnee Mission, Kan.) and junior cornerback Justin Tryon (Palmdale, Calif.). Torain ran for 1,069 yards and six touchdowns during the regular season, the first Sun Devil to surpass the 1,000-yard rushing mark since Delvon Flowers did so in 2001. Tryon was ASU's top cornerback on the season and the team's fourth-leading tackler, totaling 44 stops and a team-high seven pass break-ups, while Smith made 14 tackles on the year, while adding a sack and an interception. Rodd started in 10 games and was one of ASU's most consistent offensive lineman and a leader among a line that was forced to battle through injuries suffered by two senior starters.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder