Seven Pac-10 Teams Selected For The 2006 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament

Nov. 26, 2006

2006 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee announced today the 64-team field for the 2006 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were No. 1 the University of Nebraska, Lincoln; No. 2 STANFORD, No. 3 Pennsylvania State University; and No. 4 UCLA.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during the first and second rounds.

The Pacific-10 Conference, the Southeastern Conference, and the Big Ten Conference led all conferences with seven teams selected. The Big 12 Conference landed six teams and four conferences have three teams represented in the bracket--the West Coast Conference, Big West Conference, Mountain West Conference and Big East Conference. Three teams, Penn State, STANFORD and the University of California, Santa Barbara, have earned bids to all 26 championships. Five teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Saint Louis University, University of Alabama at Birmingham, St. John's University (New York), University of Mississippi, and Belmont University.

In the 26-year history of the championship, ten schools have been crowned champion, nine of which are in this year's bracket, including the defending champion WASHINGTON.

Additional past winners making the field are STANFORD (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), University of Hawaii, Manoa (1982, 83, 87), Long Beach State University (1989, 93, 98), UCLA (1984, 90, 91), Nebraska (1995 and 2000), USC (1981, 2002, 03), Penn State (1999), University of Texas at Austin (1988) and WASHINGTON (2005).

First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites. A list of the first-round match-ups follows.


December 1-2 at Omaha, Nebraska
Nebraska (27-1) vs. American (25-6)
Winthrop (34-2) vs. UNI (27-7)

December 1-2 at Knoxville, Tennessee
Tennessee (19-11) vs. Duke (28-3)
Jacksonville St. (24-4) vs. San Diego (24-5)

November 30- December 1 at Gainesville, Florida
Florida (28-2) vs. Florida A&M (21-6)
Col. of Charleston (27-7) vs. ASU. (15-14)

November 30- December 1 at Albany, New York
St. John's (N.Y.) (30-4) vs. Albany (N.Y.) (19-12)
Siena (22-12) vs. Minnesota (23-7)


November 30- December 1 at Los Angeles, California
USC (25-4) vs. Mississippi (19-12)
UC Santa Barb. (19-11) vs. Brigham Young (24-5)

December 1-2 at Long Beach, California
Pepperdine (16-11) vs. Long Beach St. (25-5)
Oregon (17-11) vs. Hawaii (26-5)

December 1-2 at Fayetteville, Arkansas
Oklahoma (26-5) vs. Oral Roberts (26-8)
Missouri St. (26-8) vs. Arkansas (16-12)

December 1-2 at Los Angeles, California
Utah (27-3) vs. Michigan St. (19-11)
UAB (27-9) vs. UCLA (29-3)


December 1-2 at State College, Pennsylvania
Penn St. (29-2) vs. Long Island (25-10)
Cornell (18-8) vs. Hofstra (23-6)

November 30- December 1 at West Lafayette, Indiana
Kentucky (18-11) vs. Ohio (28-4)
St. Louis (22-8) vs. Purdue (21-10)

December 1-2 at Louisville, Kentucky
Ohio St. (23-7) vs. Belmont (24-6)
Middle Tenn. (26-7) vs. Louisville (25-6)

November 30- December 1 at Boulder, Colorado
Colorado (16-11) vs. New Mexico St. (33-3)
Colorado S. (20-9) vs. Washington (25-4)


December 1-2 at Austin, Texas
Texas (21-6) vs. Prairie View (23-10)
Stephen F. Austin (30-3) vs. Alabama (17-12)

December 1-2 at Madison, Wisconsin
Iowa St. (20-10) vs. Wis.-Milwaukee (24-5)
Notre Dame (18-13) vs. Wisconsin (24-6)

December 1-2 at San Luis Obispo, California
Cal Poly (22-5) vs. Michigan (21-12)
California (20-9) vs. LSU (26-5)

December 1-2 at Stanford, California
Missouri (17-12) vs. Santa Clara (20-7)
Sacramento St. (30-5) vs. Stanford (25-3)

Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 8 and 9. The pre-determined regional sites are Austin, Texas; Gainesville, Florida; Honolulu, Hawaii; and Seattle, Washington. The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Nebraska at the Qwest Center in Omaha, Nebraska, on December 14 and 16.

For more information about the championship, log on to

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder