ASU Places 12 On All-Pac-10 Conference Teams

Nov. 27, 2006

ArizonaStateUniversity's junior tight end Zach Miller earned First Team All-Pacific-10 Conference honors, leading a group of 12 Sun Devils to receive all-league recognition, the conference announced today.


In 12 regular season games, the Phoenix native led ASU and was the Pac-10's leader among tight ends in receptions (49), receiving yards (481) and touchdown catches (four). Also, Miller was one of only three Pac-10 honorees to be named to the First Team All-Pac-10 and first team Pac-10 All-Academic lists.


Three Sun Devils earned Second-Team All-Pac-10 honors, including junior tailback Ryan Torain, junior center Mike Pollak and senior kick returner Terry Richardson. 


Torain, a former junior college transfer in his first year playing in Tempe, led the Sun Devils and ranked third in the Pac-10 in rushing yards (1,069) and scored nine total touchdowns. Torain is ASU's first 1,000-yard rusher since Delvon Flowers in 2001, and his is the highest total output by an ASU runner since J.R. Redmond's 1,174-yard 1999 campaign.


Pollak, a Tempe native, was ASU's most reliable and consistent offensive lineman, starting all 12 regular season games at center while providing veteran leadership among an offensive line that suffered losses of two senior starters throughout the course of the year.


Despite missing the second half of the regular season due to injury, Richardson averaged 33.6 yards-per-return on kickoffs, taking one back 100 yards for a score against Oregon, the only kickoff returned for a touchdown in the Pac-10 this season. He also averaged 11.1 yards-per-return on 19 punts in 2006.  This is Richardson's second all-conference honor as a kick returner, earning First-Team accolades in 2005.   


Eight Sun Devils earned honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors, including safety Josh Barrett, defensive end Kyle Caldwell, quarterback Rudy Carpenter, safety Zach Catanese, offensive lineman Paul Fanaika, defensive tackle Michael Marquardt, offensive lineman Brandon Rodd and cornerback Justin Tryon.


California tailback Marshawn Lynch was named Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year and teammate cornerback Daymeion Hughes was named Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year. Pete Carroll of Southern California was named the conference's Coach of the Year, and Oregon's Jairus Byrd, USC's Taylor Mays and UCLA's Alterraun Verner were co-recipients of the Pac-10's Freshman of the Year Award.


To view the entire All-Pac-10 teams, visit the official Pac-10 website at

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder