Pete Carroll Named Pac-10 Coach Of Year And Taylor Mays Is Frosh Of Year

Nov. 27, 2006

USC head coach Pete Carroll was named the 2006 Pac-10 Coach of the Year, safety Taylor Mays was a Co-Freshman of the Year selection and 8 other Trojans were named to the All-Pac-10 first team.

In all, 17 Trojans made the All-Pac-10 first team, second team or honorable mention.

It's the third time in Carroll's 6 years at USC that he has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, as he shared the honor in 2003 and 2005.

Mays, who shared his award with cornerbacks Jairus Byrd of Oregon and Alterraun Verner of UCLA, is USC's third Freshman of the Year honoree, joining wide receivers Kareem Kelly (1999) and Mike Williams (2002).

USC had 3 repeaters on the All-Pac-10 first team: wide receiver Dwayne Jarrett, offensive tackle Sam Baker and center Ryan Kalil. Joining them as first teamers were quarterback John David Booty, wide receiver Steve Smith, defensive tackle Sedrick Ellis and linebackers Keith Rivers and Rey Maualuga.

USC's second team All-Pac-10 picks were offensive guard Chilo Rachal, defensive end Lawrence Jackson, linebacker Brian Cushing and cornerback Terrell Thomas.

Five other Trojans were honorable mention All-Pac-10ers: placekicker Mario Danelo, safety Kevin Ellison, tailback C.J. Gable (as a kickoff returner), defensive tackle Fili Moala and linebacker Dallas Sartz.

California tailback Marshawn Lynch was named the Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year and his teammate, cornerback Daymeion Hughes, as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder