Huskies Place Three on All-Pac-10 Cross Country Team

Nov. 29, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington juniors Jeremy Mineau and Amy Lia were each named Wendesday to the All-Pac-10 Conference Cross Country First Team, leading a record three Huskies to first- or second-team honors.

Both Mineau and Lia earned top-seven finishes at last month's Pac-10 Cross Country Championships in Stanford, Calif., with Mineau placing seventh aned Lia sixth. It is the first all-conference honor for either Husky runner, and marks the third-consecutive year in which Washington has placed at least one runner on the seven-member all-conference first-team.

'Amy and Jeremy are two of the hardest-workers in our program,' said 10th-year cross country coach Greg Metcalf. 'They each ran great races at Pac-10s and it's terrific to see them earning this kind of recognition.'

Lia and Mineau were joined on the All-Pac-10 team by sophomore Anita Campbell, who was one of an additional seven conference runners bestowed with second-team honors. The ninth-place finisher at Pac-10s and a top-100 finisher at NCAAs, Campbell's all-conference honor was also the first of her UW career.

Oregon sophomore Galen Rupp and Stanford junior Arianna Lambie, both 2006 Pac-10 champions, were honored as the conference's Male and Female Athlete of the Year, respectively, while Ducks' freshman Diego Mercado and ASU freshman Ali Kielty were named Newcomers of the Year. Oregon's Vin Lananna and Stanford's Peter Tegen captured Men's and Women's Coach of the Year honors, respectively.

2006 Pac-10 Cross Country Honors
Men's All-Pac-10 First Team:
Galen Rupp, So., ORE; Robert Cheseret, Sr., ARIZ; Neftalem Araia, Sr., STAN; Aaron Aguayo, Sr., ASU; Obed Mutanya, Sr., ARIZ; Shadrack Kiptoo-Biwott, Jr., ORE; Jeremy Mineau, Jr., WASH.

Men's All-Pac-10 Second Team: Brett Gotcher, Sr., STAN; Diego Mercado, Fr., ORE; Kyle Alcorn, Jr., ASU; David Torrence, Jr., CAL; Pat Werhane, Sr., ORE; Jonathan Pierce, Sr., STAN; Jacob Gomez, Sr., STAN.

Men's Athlete of the Year: Galen Rupp, So., ORE
Men's Newcomer of the Year: Diego Mercado, Fr., ORE
Men's Coach of the Year: Vin Lananna, ORE

Women's All-Pac-10 First Team: Arianna Lambie, Jr., STAN; Kathleen Trotter, Sr., STAN; Amanda Trotter, Sr., STAN; Teresa McWalters, Jr., STAN; Cassie Rios, Jr., ASU; Amy Lia, Jr., WASH; Brooke Bennett, Jr., ASU.

Women's All-Pac-10 Second Team: Allie Bohannan, So., UCLA; Anita Campbell, So., WASH; Jenna Kingma, So., ASU; Haley Paul, Jr., WSU; Lauren Centrowitz, Jr., STAN; Ali Kielty, Fr., ASU; Zoe Nelson, So., ORE.

Women's Athlete of the Year: Arianna Lambie, Jr., STAN
Women's Newcomer of the Year: Ali Kielty, Fr. ASU
Women's Coach of the Year: Peter Tegen, STAN

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder