Zach Miller Named to the 2006 AFCA All-America Team

Nov. 30, 2006

ArizonaStateUniversity's junior tight end Zach Miller has been named to the 2006 America Football Coaches Association (AFCA) All America Team, the AFCA announced Thursday.


The Phoenix, Ariz. native has been selected as a First-Team All-American by, a First-Team All-Pac-10 selection, an ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American and one of eight semifinalists for the John Mackey Award, presented annually to the nation's top tight end.


On the season, Miller leads ASU in receptions (49), receiving yards (481) and touchdown catches (four), and is the school's all-time leading receiver among tight ends. 


Miller and the Sun Devils will close out the 2006 season against the Hawai'i Warriors in the Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl on Dec. 24, ASU's third consecutive bowl game appearance.


2006 AFCA All-America Team




QB- Troy Smith, OhioState

RB- Marshawn Lynch, California

RB- Steve Slaton, West Virginia

WR- Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech

WR- Johnnie Lee Higgins, UTEP

TE- Zach Miller, ArizonaState

OL- Justin Blalock, Texas

OL- Joe Thomas, Wisconsin

OL- Arron Sears, Tennessee

OL- Jake Long, Michigan

C- Dan Mozes, West Virginia




DL- Gaines Adams, Clemson

DL- LaMarr Woodley, Michigan

DL- Quinn Pitcock, OhioState

DL- Glenn Dorsey, LSU

LB- Rufus Alexander, Oklahoma

LB- Buster Davis, Florida State.

DB- LaRon Landry, LSU

DB- Daymeion Hughes, California

DB- Leon Hall, Michigan

DB- Eric Weddle, Utah

DB- Dwight Lowery, San JoseState



P- Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor

PK- Justin Medlock, UCLA

AP- Darren McFadden, Arkansas


Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder