Smith, Wiggins Named To Naismith Trophy Watch List

Dec. 11, 2006

STANFORD, Calif.- Senior Brooke Smith and junior Candice Wiggins have been included among a list of 50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Monday. The Naismith Trophy is one of the prestigious national awards presented annually to the men's and women's collegiate players of the year.

The Top 50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Clubs Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its preseason criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2006-07 season.

In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its preseason list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March. Cingular Wireless, will allow fans to participate in determining this year's winner through text messaging. Fan voting will account for 25-percent of the final results.

Smith currently ranks second on the squad in scoring (14.7 ppg) and rebounding (7.1 rpg) while shooting 48.9-percent from the field. Smith has scored in double-figures in six of Stanford's seven games, including a season-best 26 points in a win over Loyola Marymount in the season opener.

Wiggins has picked up right where she left off in 2005-06. The two-time All-American and Pac-10 Player of the Year, Wiggins has notched two 20-point games and leads the Cardinal in scoring at 16.9 ppg and three-pointers with 15 while ranking second in assists with 23. Wiggins is shooting 44.6-percent from the field and 68.4-percent from the foul line.

The preseason candidates for the Naismith Trophy are listed below in alphabetical order:

Name	        Pos.	SchoolMatee Ajavon	G	RutgersJolene  Anderson  G	WisconsinMorenike Atunrase G/F	Texas A&MAlison Bales	C	DukeDeWanna Bonner	F	AuburnSha Brooks	G	FloridaEssense Carson	F	RutgersCori Chambers 	G	GeorgiaAngela Clark	F	St. John'sMarissa Coleman	F	MarylandJazz Covington	F	LouisvilleJessica Davenport	C	Ohio StateDee Davis	       G	VanderbiltJessica Dickson	G	South FloridaShay Doron	G	MarylandSylvia Fowles	C	LSUKatie Gearlds	G	PurdueChrissy Givens	F	Middle TennesseeDevanai Hampton	F/C	CaliforniaLindsey Harding	G	DukeKiera Hardy 	G	NebraskaLaura Harper	F	MarylandCameo Hicks	G	WashingtonAlexis Hornbuckle	G	TennesseeCharde Houston	F	ConnecticutTasha Humphrey	F	GeorgiaTiffany Jackson	F	TexasTye Jackson	F	HoustonCrystal Kelly	F 	Western KentuckyCrystal Langhorne F	MarylandErlana Larkins	F	UNCIvory Latta	G	UNCCamille Little	F	UNCVictoria Lucas-Perry G	Michigan StateDionne Marsh 	F	New MexicoLindsey Medders	G	Iowa StateRenee Montgomery	G	ConnecticutShay Murphy	G	USCCourtney Paris	C	OklahomaCandace Parker	F/G/C	TennesseeArmintie Price	G	Ole MissAllie Quigley	G	DePaulNoelle Quinn	F	UCLAJillian Robbins	F	TulsaMegan Skouby	C	IowaBrooke Smith	F/C	StanfordKristi Toliver	G	MarylandMercedes Walker	C	PittsburghEmily Westerberg F	Arizona StateCandice Wiggins	G	Stanford
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder