Hicks Named Preseason Candidate For Naismith Trophy

Dec. 12, 2006

ATLANTA -- Washington senior guard Cameo Hicks was named one of 50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tip-Off Club announced Monday. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's players of the year.

Hicks, from Tracy, Calif., was also named a preseason candidate for the Wooden Award earlier this season. The Husky co-captain leads the squad with 18.3 points per game and 44.7 field goal shooting percentage. This season, Hicks has tallied eight double-figure scoring games including four 20-point games. She tallied back-to-back career-high 29-point scoring efforts in road games at Kent State (Nov. 30) and No. 6 Ohio State (Dec. 3), for which she was honored as the Pac-10 Player of the Week. Hicks was also named to the Basketball Travelers Husky Classic All-Tournament Team, leading UW to the tourney title. Not just a one-dimensional player, Hicks ranks second on the team in rebounding (4.8 rpg) and assists (20), and is third in steals (10). Last season, Hicks was a first-team All-Pac-10 selection.

The Top-50 list, selected based on last season's performances and expectations for the 2006-07 season, was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow the list to the Top-30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

Cingular Wireless will continue to set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining this year's winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25% of the final results - more than any other national award.

The pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows: Matee Ajavon, G, Rutgers; Jolene Anderson, G, Wisconsin; Morenike Atunrase, G/F, Texas A&M; Alison Bales, C, Duke; DeWanna Bonner, F, Auburn; Sha Brooks, G, Florida; Essense Carson, F, Rutgers; Cori Chambers, G, Georgia; Angela Clark, F, St. John's; Marissa Coleman, F, Maryland; Jazz Covington, F, Louisville; Jessica Davenport, C, Ohio State; Dee Davis, G, Vanderbilt; Jessica Dickson, G, South Florida; Shay Doron, G, Maryland; Sylvia Fowles, C, LSU; Katie Gearlds, G, Purdue; Chrissy Givens, F, Middle Tennessee; Devanai Hampton, C, Cal; Lindsey Harding, G, Duke; Kiera Hardy, G, Nebraska; Laura Harper, F, Maryland; Cameo Hicks, G, Washington; Alexis Hornbuckle, G, Tennessee; Charde Houston, F, Connecticut; Tasha Humphrey, F, Georgia; Tiffany Jackson, F, Texas; Tye Jackson, F, Houston; Crystal Kelly, F, Western Kentucky; Crystal Langhorne, F, Maryland; Erlana Larkins, F, UNC; Ivory Latta, G, UNC; Camille Little, F, UNC; Victoria Lucas-Perry, G, Michigan State; Dionne Marsh, F, New Mexico; Lindsey Medders, G, Iowa State; Renee Montgomery, G, Connecticut; Shay Murphy, G, USC; Courtney Paris, C, Oklahoma; Candace Parker, F/G/C, Tennessee; Armintie Price, G, Ole Miss; Allie Quigley, G, DePaul; Noelle Quinn, G, UCLA; Jillian Robbins, F, Tulsa; Megan Skouby, C, Iowa; Brooke Smith, F/C, Stanford; Kristi Toliver, G, Maryland; Mercedes Walker, C, Pittsburgh; Emily Westerberg, F, Arizona State; Candice Wiggins, G, Stanford.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network