Niklas Lemke In Contention For Ben Hogan Award As Spring Season Begins In January

Dec. 12, 2006

Arizona State senior Niklas Lemke is on the watch list for the Ben Hogan Award, known as the most prestigious award in men's college golf. Lemke, a third-team All-American last year and an honorable mention pick in 2005, has a 69.89 stroke average through three events this fall with a victory at the Illini Invitational Sept. 24-25. He finished second both at the Topy Cup (Sept. 5-7) and at the NCAA Ping Preview (Oct. 2-4).

Colonial Country Club and The Friends of Golf (FOG) in cooperation with the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced the watch list for the 2007 The Ben Hogan Award. The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Returning PING First-Team All-America selections Rhys Davies of East Tennessee State, Texas Tech's Oscar Floren, Billy Horschel of Florida, Coastal Carolina's Dustin Johnson, Chris Kirk of Georgia and Oklahoma State's Pablo Martin and Jonathan Moore highlight the list. Others on the 23 player watch list include Charlie Beljan of New Mexico, Louisville's Derek Fathauer, Erik Flores of UCLA, UNLV's Seung-su Han, Brian Harman of Georgia, SMU's Colt Knost, Bronson La'Cassie of Minnesota, Lemke, Jamie Lovemark of Southern California, Stanford's Zack Miller, Alex Prugh of Washington, Wake Forest's Webb Simpson, Kyle Stanley of Clemson, Georgia Tech's Cameron Tringale, Dawie Van Der Walt of Lamar and Kansas' Gary Woodland.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on April 4 and name three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on May 22 at Colonial Country Club - the Tuesday prior to the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.

2007 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Charlie Beljan, New Mexico

Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State

Derek Fathauer, Louisville

Oscar Floren, Texas Tech

Erik Flores, UCLA

Seung-su Han, UNLV

Brian Harman, Georgia

Billy Horschel, Florida

Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina

Chris Kirk, Georgia

Colt Knost, SMU

Bronson La'Cassie, Minnesota

Niklas Lemke, Arizona State

Jamie Lovemark, Southern California

Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State

Zack Miller, Stanford

Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State

Alex Prugh, Washington

Webb Simpson, Wake Forest

Kyle Stanley, Clemson

Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech

Dawie Van Der Walt, Lamar

Gary Woodland, Kansas

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder