Ellis and Kalil Named 27th Morris Trophy Winners

Dec. 14, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Nose tackle Sedrick Ellis and center Ryan Kalil of USC have been named winners of the 27th annual Morris Trophy. It marks just the fourth time in 27 years, and the first time since 1991, that the offensive and defensive winners have come from the same school.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Ellis, a 6-foot-1, 295-pound junior from Chino, Calif., was the rock in the middle of the USC defense that played a key role in the Trojans' 10-2 regular-season record that led to a Rose Bowl berth. With Ellis in the middle of the line, USC led the Pac-10 in both scoring defense (14.9 points per game) and total defense (293.8 yards per game). A two-year starter and a first-team All-Pac-10 selection this year, Ellis missed three early games with a knee injury, but still posted 28 tackles, including six tackles for loss and 3.5 quarterback sacks, broke up two tackles, recovered two fumbles and blocked a kick. While USC has had nine offensive linemen win the Morris Trophy, Ellis becomes just the third Trojan defensive lineman to be voted the award and the first since 1995.

Kalil, a 6-foot-3, 285-pound senior from Corona, Calif., has started at center for USC the last three seasons and has been voted first-team All-Pac-10 Conference by the head football coaches the last two years. He was the only unanimous pick by the coaches on the offensive line this year and has been named a second-team All-America selection. He started every game this year on an offensive unit that averaged 30.3 points per game. The Trojan offensive line allowed only 16 quarterback sacks all season. Long known for its offensive linemen, USC has taken the offensive side of the Morris Trophy nine times in 27 years.

Ellis and Kalil will be presented their awards at a luncheon at the prestigious Washington Athletic Club in Seattle on January 18, 2007. The Morris Trophy is sponsored by the Morris Family of Woodway, Wash., and the Washington Athletic Club.

Previous Morris Trophy Winners

Year Offense Defense 1980 Roy Foster, USC Vince Goldsmith, Oregon 1981 Roy Foster, USC Fletcher Jenkins, Washington 1982 Bruce Matthews, USC George Achica, USC 1983 Gary Zimmerman, Oregon Keith Millard, Washington State 1984 Dan Lynch, Washington State Ron Holmes, Washington 1985 Jeff Bregel, USC Erik Howard, Washington State 1986 Danny Villa, Arizona State Reggie Rogers, Washington 1987 Randall McDaniel, Arizona State Dana Wells, Arizona 1988 Joe Tofflemire, Arizona Dana Wells, Arizona 1989 Bern Brostek, Washington Esera Tuaolo, Oregon State 1990 Pat Harlow, USC Steve Emtman, Washington 1991 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Steve Emtman, Washington 1992 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Rob Waldrop, Arizona 1993 Todd Steussie, California D'Marco Farr, Washington 1994 Tony Boselli, USC Chad Eaton, Washington State 1995 Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Tedy Bruschi, Arizona 1996 Bob Sapp, Washington Darrell Russell, USC 1997 Olin Kreutz, Washington Jeremy Staat, Arizona State 1998 Yusuf Scott, Arizona Inoke Breckterfield, Oregon State 1999 Travis Claridge, USC Willie Howard, Stanford 2000 Chad Ward, Washington Andre Carter, California 2001 Levi Jones, Arizona State Kenyon Coleman, UCLA 2002 Kwame Harris, Stanford Terrell Suggs, Arizona State 2003 Jacob Rogers, USC Dave Ball, UCLA 2004 Adam Snyder, Oregon Bill Swancutt, Oregon State 2005 Ryan O'Callaghan, California Haloti Ngata, Oregon 2006 Ryan Kalil, USC Sedrick Ellis, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder