News & Notes From The NCAA Volleyball Championships

Dec. 13, 2006

Credit: University of Nebraska Media Relations

NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship Notes
Stanford versus Washington
Dec. 14, 2006 * National Semifinals * 6:30 p.m. PT
Seeds: Stanford #2; Washington #6
Records: Stanford 29-3; Washington 29-4

  • Stanford is the second seed in the tournament ranked second in the latest CSTV/AVCA Division I Coaches Top 25 Poll. Washington, the tournament's sixth seed, is ranked third in the latest national poll.

  • Washington and Stanford split in the regular season, both winning in three games on their home court. The Huskies won 30-21, 30-28, 30-25 on Sept. 22 in Seattle, while the Cardinal won 30-27, 30-15, 31-29 at Palo Alto, Calif. All-time, Stanford leads the series 40-8.

  • Stanford ranks first in all-time NCAA playoff wins heading into the 2006 NCAA semifinals. The Cardinal has won 81 NCAA tournament matches (81-20). Nebraska (68) and UCLA (67) are second and third in playoff victories, respectively. Washington has 24 playoff victories.

  • Stanford is one of three schools to have earned spots in all 26 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championships. Penn State and UC Santa Barbara are the other two schools.

  • Stanford has won six NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship titles, while finishing second five times. The Cardinal is 49-2 in the NCAA playoffs when winning the first game. Stanford is 29-1 in 2006 when winning game one.

  • Stanford placed Foluke Akinradewo and Cynthia Barboza on the AVCA All-America First Team, in addition to Bryn Kehoe on the second team and Kristin Richards on the third team.

  • Stanford is familiar with Omaha and the Qwest Center. The Cardinal played in the 2005 AVCA Showcase at the Qwest Center Omaha. Stanford defeated Penn State in the opening round before losing to Nebraska in the championship match in front of 10,576 fans on Aug. 27.

  • Stanford Head Coach John Dunning has won national titles with Pacific (1985, 1986) and Stanford (2001, 2004). Only Southern California's Mick Haley has won titles with two teams (Texas in 1988 and USC in 2002 and 2003). Dunning has led the Cardinal to the national semifinals in four of the past six years. He ranks third in coaching appearance in the NCAA semifinals with eight (four each at Stanford and Pacific).

  • Washington placed Christal Morrison and Courtney Thompson on the AVCA All-America First Team, in addition to Alesha Deesing on second team and Jessica Swarbrick on third team.

  • Washington has reached the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship semifinal round for the third consecutive year. The Huskies have earned berths to the NCAA tournament in each of the last five seasons and 11 times overall. Washington defeated Nebraska in three games last year capture the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship, its first-ever championship in the event.

  • Washington setter Courtney Thompson enters the semifinal match with Stanford ranked third in all-time assists with 6,531 and trailing Penn State's Michelle Jaworski (1987-90) by 65 assists and UAB's Tammy Robertson (1989-92) by 129 assists. Thompson also was selected as ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Second Team this year.

  • Washington Head Coach Jim McLaughlin is the first volleyball coach to lead a women's and men's program to NCAA titles. He won national titles with the Huskies last year and the Southern California men's team in 1990.

  • Washington has three semifinal appearances. The Huskies won the national title in 2005 after finishing third in 2004.

  • Stevie Mussie led Washington in kills in both regional wins over Ohio State and Penn State on Dec. 8 and 9, respectively.

  • Washington's Courtney Thompson captured the Honda Broderick Award as the best NCAA volleyball player as voted by schools.

  • This year marks the second time in three years that the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship semifinal round has comprised of three Pacific 10 Conference schools out of the four teams. In 2004, Southern California, Stanford and Washington represented the Pac-10, while Minnesota represented the Big Ten. This year, Nebraska is the only non-Pac-10 team as UCLA, Washington and Stanford complete the field. Three Pac-10 teams also competed in the 1985 national semifinals. The Pac-10 has been represented in the NCAA semifinals in 24 of the 26 years.

  • The Pac-10 has won the last five NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championships. Washington won in 2005, Stanford in 2001 and 2004, and Southern California in 2002 and 2003.
  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    5:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder