UCLA's Andy Banachowski Named 2006 Tachikara/AVCA Division I National Coach of the Year

Dec. 14, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

OMAHA, Neb. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA), in conjunction with Tachikara USA, Inc, is proud to announce that UCLA Head Women's Volleyball Coach Andy Banachowski has been selected as the 2006 Tachikara/AVCA Division I National Coach of the Year.

Since its first serve in 1965, UCLA has been one of the top women's volleyball programs in the country, and Banachowski has led the Bruins for all but two of those seasons. This season, UCLA is 33-3 heading into the national semifinals of the NCAA Division I Tournament, and a showdown with No. 1 Nebraska. The 33 wins are the most for the program since 1994 when they went 32-4 and reached the NCAA Championship match.

Rated No. 10 in the preseason CSTV/AVCA Division I Top 25 Coaches Poll, UCLA won their first 20 matches, climbing to as high as No. 3 in the rankings. The Bruins went 15-3 in the Pac-10, tying for second place in a conference that boasted five of the top fifteen teams in the country this season, including three of the four teams in the national semifinals. The second place conference finish is the best for the program since 1999.

Banachowski, the all-time wins leader in women's NCAA Division I history, has now won 1,037 matches in his 40 seasons at UCLA, against only 269 losses, a .794 winning percentage. He has been involved in 12 volleyball National Championships at UCLA, including ten as a coach (six women's and four men's titles), and two titles as a player for UCLA's men's team. Banachowski has had three double title years, 1972, 1974 and 1975, as the Bruin men's and women's teams both won the championship in those years.

Banachowski takes home his second Tachikara/AVCA Division I National Coach of the Year honor, first winning the award in 1989. He also won the first Tachikara/AVCA Division I Pacific Region Coach of the Year honor of his career last week. Banachowski was named Tachikara/AVCA Division I District Coach of the Year four times (1989, '92, '93 and '98). In addition, this marks the sixth time that a Pac-10 coach has garnerd the honor (1989, '91, 2001, '03, and '04).

Tachikara formally presented the AVCA Division I National Coach of the Year award to Andy Banachowski this afternoon in Omaha, Neb. at the Tachikara/AVCA Coach of the Year and Victory Club AwardsSM banquet. The banquet was held in conjunction with the 2006 AVCA Annual Convention.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder