Akinradewo Named Honda Award Nominee

Dec. 22, 2006

Sophomore middle blocker Foluke Akinradewo has been named one of four finalists for the 2006-07 Honda Sports Award for Women's Volleyball. Akinradewo joins UCLA's Nana Meriwether, Nebraska's Sarah Pavan and Washington's Courtney Thompson as nominees for the award.

Akinradewo earned First Team AVCA All-American honors, her second All-American honor as a member of the Cardinal program, while helping her squad to the 2006 NCAA championship match. Akinradewo was named to the championship all-tournament team for her performance against Nebraska in the championship final.

Akinradewo was also named to the All-Pac-10 Conference Team for the second straight season, earning Pac-10 All-Academic accolades this year for her performance in the classroom. She was also selected the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 2005.

Following nationwide balloting, the winner of the 2006-07 Honda Sports Award for Women's Volleyball will become a nominee for the Honda-Broderick Cup, awarded annually to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. American Honda will donate $1,000 to the women's athletic fund of each nominee's university, while the university of the winner of the Women's Volleyball Honda Award will receive $5,000.

The Stanford Women's Volleyball program boasts six Honda Award winners since 1985. Kristin Folkl (1997), Ogonna Nnamani (2004), Bev Oden (1990), Kim Oden (1985) and Logan Tom (2001, 2002) have all been selected as Honda Award winners for women's volleyball.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder