Jeff Van Raaphorst To Be Inducted Into Rose Bowl Hall Of Fame

Dec. 29, 2006

TEMPE, Ariz. - Former Arizona State University quarterback and 1987 Rose Bowl Most Valuable Player Jeff Van Raaphorst will be inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame, it was announced. He will join former University of Washington defensive lineman Steve Emtman and renowned sports journalist Rube Samuelsen and the three will be honored on December 31, 2006 during a ceremony at the Rose Bowl Game Kickoff Luncheon in Pasadena.

Van Raaphorst, who grew up in San Diego, led Arizona State to its first Rose Bowl appearance, defeating Michigan 22-15, in the 1987 game. Van Raaphorst passed for 193 yards and two touchdowns in the game, out-dueling the Wolverines' Jim Harbaugh, and capturing Rose Bowl MVP honors.

During his time at ASU, Van Raaphorst broke 21 school passing records, including most passes completed in a game (38, twice), most yards gained per game average against one opponent (316) and longest pass play when he threw a 95-yard pass to Aaron Cox against USC in 1985. In 1986, Van Raaphorst was named ASU's MVP, and was invited to play in that year's East-West Shrine Game.

Van Raaphorst resides in the Phoenix area with his wife of 18 years and their three children. He now serves as Vice President and Sales Manager for Benton BioMedical, representing Medtronic's Spinal and Biologic Sales Division in Arizona and Las Vegas. A member of the ASU Hall of Fame, Van Raaphorst remains close to the Sun Devil program, serving as a color commentator for ASU football radio broadcasts.

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to honor members of the Rose Bowl family who have contributed to the history and excitement of the Rose Bowl Game, and those who embody the best of the passion, honor, strength and tradition associated with The Granddaddy of Them All.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network