Wire Beats Defending NCAA Champion in Opening Round of Sherwood Cup

Jan. 12, 2007

Freshman Richard Wire beat Ben Kohlloefel of UCLA, the defending NCAA singles champion, to highlight the first day of competition at the Sherwood Cup in Westlake Village, Calif. Wire and Eric McKean were both first round winners today, but were both eliminated in the second round. All five of Stanford's other players lost in the opening round.

But it was Wire who provided the headline for Stanford. The freshman from Essex, England, lost the first set, but came back to win the final two sets and the match, 2-6, 7-6, 6-3. Kohlloefel was the No. 1 seed in the tournament and the No. 4 ranked player in the country.

'This was a huge win for Richard,' said Cardinal head coach John Whitlinger. 'It shows he can play with anyone in the country. Kohlloefel is a great player; he doesn't lose to often. It's a great way for Richard to start the season.'

Wire was beaten in the second round by Bassam Beidas of Pepperdine, 6-3, 6-1. McKean began the day with a 5-7, 6-3, 6-1 win over Stanley Sarapinich of Boise State, but was then defeated in the second round by Kaes Van't Hof of USC, 6-1, 4-6, 6-3.

Six of Stanford's seven players played against the top seeds in the tournament. Senior Dave Ryan was beaten by Michael Kokta of Baylor, the tournament's No. 2 seed; freshman Paul Morrissey lost to Matija Zgaga of Baylor, the No. 4 seed; freshman Kevin Kaiser lost to Haythem Abid of UCLA, who was the fifth-seed; and Blake Muller was defeated by the seventh-seed, Mathieu Dehaine of UCLA.

The tournament continues tomorrow with doubles action and the consolation singles bracket.

Sherwood Cup
Sherwood Country Club
Westlake Village, Calif.

First Round
Richard Wire (S) d. Ben Kohlloefel (UCLA), 2-6, 7-6, 6-3
Eric McKean (S) d. Stanley Sarapinich (Boise State), 5-7, 6-3, 6-1
Haythem Abid (UCLA) d. Kevin Kaiser (S), 6-2, 6-4
Matija Zgaga (Baylor) d. Paul Morrissey (S), 6-2, 6-2
Mathieu Dehaine (UCLA) d. Blake Muller (S), 6-3, 6-1
Michael Kokta (Baylor) d. Dave Ryan (S), 6-4, 6-0
Dejan Cvetkovic (USC) d. Jeff Zeller (S), 6-2, 6-4

Second Round
Bassam Beidas (Pepperdine) d. Richard Wire (S), 6-3, 6-1
Kaes Van't Hof (USC) d. Eric McKean (S), 6-1, 4-6, 6-3

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder