Hicks Named Candidate For 2007 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Jan. 17, 2007

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Washington senior guard Cameo Hicks has been named one of 30 candidates for the 2007 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, the nation's premier tribute to college seniors.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was launched during the 2001-02 season to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who remain committed to their university and pursue the many rewards that a senior season can bring.

Sponsored by Lowe's, the award has already reached its sixth year. Finalists will be selected based on personal qualities that define a complete student athlete. These areas of excellence are identified under the categories of classroom, character and community, as well as the candidate's performance and team loyalty on the court.

Hicks, a native of Tracy, Calif., is the Huskies' leading scorer and rebounder with 17.7 points per game and 5.4 boards per game. She was a first-team All-Pac-10 selection last year and was named a preseason candidate for both the 2006-07 Wooden Award and Naismith Trophy. She is already a two-time Pac-10 Player of the Week this season for the Huskies. In addition to her stellar play on the floor, Hicks is a standout student earning Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar and ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District second-team acclaim last season. She is also in her second year as the president of the Washington Student Athlete Advisory Committee (WSAAC).

From the list of 30 nominees for each gender, a national media committee will select 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award in February as the conference basketball season hits its peak.

Those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote during the NCAA Tournament in March. Fan balloting will be coupled with votes from coaches and media to determine the male and female recipients. Winners will be announced during the men's and women's respective Final Four weekends.

Previous winners of the women's award include Sue Bird of Connecticut (2002), LaToya Thomas of Mississippi State (2003), Alana Beard of Duke (2004), Kendra Wecker of Kansas State (2005) and Seimone Augustus of LSU (2006).

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder