Legaspi, Selden Named to ASA Watch List

Jan. 23, 2007

Senior shortstop Jodie Legaspi and junior pitcher Anjelica Selden are among 50 players named today to the Amateur Softball Association's 'Watch List' for the USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award.

The award, which will be awarded for the sixth time in June, is considered one of the most prestigious honors in college softball and is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by collegiate softball players around the country.

The 2007 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 33 schools and 11 different NCAA Division I Conferences. A complete list of the players with photos and links to their collegiate bios can be found in the College Corner on the USA Softball website, www.usasoftball.com

The ASA will announce the 25 finalists on April 4. A player does not have to appear on the initial watch list to be considered as a Top-25 finalist, but once the Top 25 is named the remaining finalists must be selected from that list.

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 9. The final three finalists will be announced May 23, while the winner of the 2007 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2007 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Past winners of this award include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden and three-time winner Cat Osterman from Texas.

The 2007 ESPN.com/USA Softball Collegiate Top-25 Pre-Season poll will be announced on Tuesday, January 30.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network