Skip to main content

Ryan Takes Sixth At USA Nationals

Feb 10, 2007

BOULDER - The University of Colorado was well represented at the USA Cross Country Nationals today at the Flatirons Golf Course in Boulder, as many qualified for the national team. Freshman Aislinn Ryan finished the 6k loop in the juniors race in 22 minutes and 19 seconds, placing sixth overall.


Ryan's finish also qualifies her for the national team which will compete at the World Championship in Mombasa, Kenya on March 24. Ryan finished 25 seconds behind the winner, Jordan Hasay. The 15-year-old finished in 21:44, 14 seconds ahead of the runner-up.


CU recruit Matt Tebo will also be representing the U.S. in Kenya this March. He placed third overall, finishing in 26:22. Elliot Heath won the race in 26:07.


Freshman Matthew Herzl placed 10th in the juniors 8k, finishing with a mark of 26:36. Senior Payton Batliner took 19th in the men's open race. He ran the 12k in 39:01.


Colorado's former student-athletes dominated the men's open race, taking the top four places. Alan Culpepper won the 12k race in 37:09, 26 seconds ahead of runner-up Adam Goucher (37:35). Dathan Ritzenhein took third in 37:47 and Jorge Torres came in fourth, almost a full minute behind Culpepper at 38:07. All four will represent the U.S. at Worlds as the top nine in the race will make up the team.


Ed Torres placed 10th (38:31), just one spot from qualifying for Worlds. Bret Schoolmeester took 17th (38:55) and Steve Slattery was 32nd (40:13). Jon Severy earned a 41st-place finish in 41:01. Oscar Ponce finished 52nd (41:45).


In the women's open race, Colorado had two more former Buffs make the national team roster. Kara Goucher placed third in 28:01 and Renee Metivier Baillie was fifth in 28:35. Deena Kastor won the race in 26:47.


Shayne Culpepper was 12th with a time of 29:17 and Christine Bolf was 15th in 29:40. Carrie Messner placed 19th overall (30:26).





Boulder, Colo. (Flatirons Golf Course)

Junior Men (8): 3. Matt Tebo, 26:22; 10. Matthew Herzl, 26:36

Junior Women (6k): 6. Aislinn Ryan, 22:19

Open Men (12k): 1. Alan Culpepper, 37:09; 2. Adam Goucher, 37:35; 3. Dathan Ritzenhein, 37:47; 4. Jorge Torres, 38:07; 10. Ed Torres, 38:31; 17. Bret Schoolmeester, 38:55; 19. Payton Batliner, 39:01; 32. Steve Slattery, 40:13; 41. Jon Severy, 41:01; 52. Oscar Ponce, 41:45.

Open Women (8k): 3. Kara Goucher, 28:01; 5. Renee Metivier Baillie, 28:35; 12. Shayne Culpepper, 29:17; 15. Christine Bolf, 29:40; 19. Carrie Messner, 30:26.