Pac-10 Wrestling Championships On Tap This Weekend

Feb. 22, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


The 48th Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling Championships take place this Saturday, February 24, and Sunday, February 25, at the Icardo Center on the campus of Cal State Bakersfield. Conference titles in 10 weight classes as well as the overall team title will be up for grabs during the two-day tournament. The Championships are divided into four sessions, culminating with the championship finals matches Sunday evening. First-round action begins at at 11 a.m. PT on Saturday morning. Championship finals begin at 6 p.m. PT Sunday night. ARIZONA STATE is the two-time defending Pac-10 Champion.


Saturday, February 249 a.m. Weigh-in at Physical Education Building

11 a.m. Session I: Pigtails & Quarterfinals Icardo Center

6 p.m. Session II: Semifinals Consolation Pigtails & Quarterfinals Icardo Center

Sunday, February 25 10 a.m. Weigh-in at Physical Education Building

11 a.m. Session III: Fifth-Place Matches Consolation Semifinals Icardo Center

5:30 p.m. Parade of Champions Icardo Center

6 p.m. Session IV: Championship Third-Place Matches Icardo Center

Watch Live!

There will be 10 institutions competing for the Conference Championship: Arizona State, BOISE STATE, UC DAVIS, CAL POLY, CAL STATE BAKERSFIELD, CAL STATE FULLERTON, OREGON, OREGON STATE, PORTLAND STATE and STANFORD.

All-session passes for chairback seating is $40, while an adult all-session pass in general admission seating is $30. General admission all-session seating for seniors, students and youth is $20. Single-session passes are also available. Call (661) 654-BLUE for more information.

In addition to the 10 Conference individual titles at stake this weekend, a total of 39 Pac-10 wrestlers will earn trips to the 2007 NCAA Division I Championships being held at the Palace in Auburn Hills, Michigan from March 15-17. The top three wrestlers in each weight class earn automatic berths, then nine wildcards are chosen to round out the Pac-10 contingent.

Arizona State has won the past two Pac-10 Championships, taking the title in 2006 with a score of 118.0. The win was the 16th all-time for the Sun Devils, tying them with Oregon State for the most in Conference history. The Beavers have not won the title since 1994, but had the best Conference dual record this year and are the highest-ranked squad in current national rankings. Since the new millenium, only Arizona State (2001, `03, `05, `06) and Boise State (2000, `02, `04) have claimed victory. The Broncos and Oregon Ducks are tied for the third-most Conference championships with three apiece.

AT BAKERSFIELDThe Pac-10 Championships have made their way to Bakersfield on two prior occasions: 1990 and 1996. Both tournaments have equaled success for the hosting Roadrunners, who finished second to Arizona State in 1990 and captured their first Pac-10 Championship on the home mats in 1996.

Requests for credentials should be made through Kevin Eubanks at CSU Bakersfield. Media interested in obtaining credentials can do so by sending an e-mail request to Media will be notified of their accreditation status prior to the tournament. No credentials will be mailed. They will be distributed at Will Call at the Icardo Center beginning at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 24.

A set of results will be available to each head coach following the conclusion of each session and at the conclusion of the Championship. Results will be posted daily on CSU Bakersfield's Web site at and on the Pac-10 Web site at

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network