Meichtry and Russell Win Pac-10 Titles on the Third Day

Feb. 23, 2007

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. - Juniors Dominik Meichtry and David Russell claimed individual Pac-10 titles in the third day of competition at the 2007 Pac-10 Championship in Federal Way, Wash. Meichtry won the 200 free, as Russell was victorious in the 100 back. However as a team, Cal slipped from second to third with 429 points.

'We are just starting to taper for the NCAA Championships,' head coach Nort Thorton said. 'Our team has been trying some different rotations at this meet and we found some that work. So we'll just keep working tomorrow to qualify people.'

Meichtry had an edge on all competition during the race, finishing at 1:33.82 to win his first Pac-10 title in the 200 free. Earlier in the day, Meichtry had finished second in the preliminary round (1:35.11), behind Stanford's Andy Grant (1:34.62). Last year, Meichtry finished second to eventual NCAA Champion Simon Burnett of Arizona.

In the 100 back, Russell finished the race at 46.93, 15-hundreths in front of 2006 100 back champion Hongzhe Sun of Stanford. Sun won the preliminary with his time of 47.23, but finished the finals at 47.08. This was also Russell's first Pac-10 title.

In only his first Pac-10 Championships, Nathan Adrian finished second in the 100 fly, with his season-best time of 46.81. Ben Wildman-Tobriner of Stanford won the race with his time of 46.00. Adrian had finished the preliminaries in third after posting a time of 47.17.

Also in action on Friday, Mark Eckert finished third in the 400 IM with his season-best time of 3:49.52. Richard Hunter was clocked at 54.90 in the 100 breast, for seventh place.

Cal will wrap up action on Saturday at the Pac-10 Championship. The Bears will complete in 1650 free, 200 back, 100 free, 200 breast, 200 fly and 400 free relay. The meet is being held at Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network