Stanford Cross Country Earns Multiple All-Academic Awards

Feb. 23, 2007

Stanford women's cross country has been named the 2006 NCAA Division I All-Academic Women's Cross Country Team of the Year by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. While Stanford men's cross country team member Neftalem Araia, who finished second at the NCAA Championships, was named the All-Academic Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year.

The Cardinal women won their second straight NCAA cross country championship in November. In the classroom, the team had a cumulative team grade point average of 3.470.

Stanford's team roster featured Lindsay Allen, Shannon Bergstedt, Lauren Centrowitz, Lindsay Flacks, Alicia Follmar, Katie Harrington, Arianna Lambie, Mary Liz McCurdy, Teresa McWalters, Kate Niehaus, Madeleine O'Meara, Kaylin Pennington, Leah Sawyer, Anne St. Geme, Amanda Trotter, Katy Trotter and Kelsey Walker.

Peter Tegen coached the Cardinal to its national championship. For his efforts, he was named the national coach of the year, receiving the USTFCCCA award named in his honor.

Neftalem Araia, a communications major from Indianapolis, had a 3.435 grade point average. Araia was second to BYU's Josh Rohatinsky at the NCAA Championships in Terre Haute, Ind. Both these accomplishments contributed to him being named the All-Academic Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year.

For more information please visit:

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network