Vandals Lead First Day of Inland Cup

Feb. 26, 2007

CLARKSTON, Wash. -- Idaho's Cassie Castleman shot an opening round 74 to lead women competitors at the annual Inland Cup collegiate golf tournament at Clarkston Country Club, while the Vandal's Russell Grove led the men's division with a two-under par 70.

For the Cougars, sophomore Max Reinland, freshman Austin Hurt, and redshirt senior Chad Carlson all sit in a six-way tie for 5th place, sharing a score of 1-over 73. All golfers in the tournament are competing as individuals.

Freshman Nick Grigsby and senior Chris Collins both sit in 13th place after the first day of play. Both participants finished with a score of 3-over 75.

Redshirt senior Jordan Madison, senior Kevin Chen, and junior Jordan Burns are currently in a four-way tie for 20th place, all with scores of 5-over 77. Rounding out the bracket for the Cougars is redshirt freshman Jeff Langin, who sits in 26th place with a score of 7-over 79.

On the women's side, sophomore Jessica Black is in 2nd place after the first day of play. Black finished the day with a score of 5-over 77. Following in 3rd place is redshirt freshman Mandy Parsons. Parsons concluded with a first day score of 8-over 80.

Teams from WSU, Idaho, Portland, LCSC, British Columbia and Victoria will play the final round Tuesday at Quail Ridge Golf Club. The first groups will tee off at 9:00 a.m.

Women's Results: 1. Cassie Castleman, UI, 74; 2. Jessica Black, WSU,77; 3. Mandy Parsons, WSU, 80; 4. Molly Edmunds, UP, 83, Juanita Vila, LCSC, 83, Courtney Shrout, 83; 7. Agatha Brzezinski, UP, 84; 8. Samara Kluever, LCSC, 87; 9. Kara Player, LCSC, 90, Jenna Huff, Idaho, 90, Chantelle Beveridge, LCSC, 90, Niki Fisher, 90, Brittany Sheeler, LCSC, 90, Sue James, LCSC, 90; Katie Fuqua, LCSC, 102.

Men's Results: 1. 1. Russell Grove, UI, 70; 2. Cory Renfrew, BC, 71, Stephen Lane, UV,, David Sheman, BC, 71; 5. Jake Moffatt, UV, 73, Patrick Casabonne, LCSC, 73, Ben Weyland, UI, 73, Max Reinland, WSU, 73, Austin Hurt, WSU, 73, Chad Carlson, WSU, 73; 11. Nick Grigsby, WSU, 74, Kevin Tucker, WSU, 74; 13. Jordan Mason, WSU, 75, Chris Collins, WSU, 75, Jonathan MaCaslin, LCSC, 75, Jade Dennill, UV, 75, Brad Tensen, UI, 75; 18. Nikolas Arrenbrecht, LCSC, 76, Erik Swinburnson, UV, 76; 20. Jordan Madison, WSU, 77, Kevin Chen, WSU, 77, Colter Kautzmann, UI, 77, Jordan Burns, WSU, 77; 24. Gabriel Wilson, UI, 78, Mitch Evanecz, UV, 78, 26. Jeff Langin, WSU, 79; 27. James Roxburgh, BC, 80, Jesse Skelton, BC, 80, Brett Webster, BC, 80, Craig O'Meara, UI, 80, 31. Joey Lovell, LCSC, 83, Chris Jarrett, LCSC, 83; 33. Ryan Morton, UI, 86.

(Competing schools: Washington State, Idaho, Lewis-Clark State, Portland, British Columbia and Victoria; non-team scoring event.)

-- --
Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network