Arron Afflalo Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

March 5, 2007

UCLA junior guard Arron Afflalo has been selected Pac-10 Player of the Year in a vote of the league's coaches, it was announced today.

In addition, sophomore guard Darren Collison was also named first-team All-Pac-10. Sophomore forwards Josh Shipp and Luc Richard Mbah a Moute were honorable mention selections.

UCLA and Washington State were the only schools to place two players on the All-Pac-10 team. This marks the 19th time UCLA has had multiple selections to the first team.

A member of the All-Pac-10 team a year ago, Afflalo leads the Bruins and is third in the conference in scoring, averaging 17.2 points per game. Afflalo has scored in double figures in 29 consecutive games and his led the Bruins in scoring in 17 games this year.

He's currently the Pac-10's active scoring leader with 1,447 career points, which ranks 21st on UCLA's all-time scoring list.

In addition, his 199 career three-pointers rank second all-time in Bruin history. He's started 97 of a possible 98 games during his career and was a member of the 2005 Pac-10 All-Freshman team.

Afflalo is the fifth different Bruin to be honored as Pac-10 Player of the Year, joining Marques Johnson (1977), David Greenwood (1978, 79), Kenny Fields (1983) and Ed O'Bannon (1995).

Collison, in his first season as a starter, leads the Bruins in assists (6.0) and steals (2.2) and is third on the squad in scoring (12.4).

Shipp is second on the team in scoring (13.3) and averaging 3.7 rebounds and 2.5 assists. Mbah a Moute is UCLA's leading rebounder (7.7) and is averaging 8.6 points per game.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network