Pac-10 Announces Men's Basketball All-Conference Honors

March 5, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif., - In a vote of the 10 Conference coaches, UCLA junior guard Arron Afflalo has been named the 2006-07 Pacific-10 Men's Basketball Player of the Year, ARIZONA forward Chase Budinger has been named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Tony Bennett of WASHINGTON STATE is the Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

The Complete Conference Honors:


Name	        School 	Pos	Yr	Ht	Wt	Hometown (Last School)Arron Afflalo	UCLA	G	Jr.	6-5	200	Compton, Calif. (Centennial HS)Jon Brockman	WASH	F	So.	6-7	245	Snohomish, Wash. (Snohomish HS)Aaron Brooks	ORE	G	Sr.	6-0	160	Seattle, Wash. (Franklin HS)Darren Collison	UCLA	G	So.	6-2	160	Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. (Etiwanda HS)Lawrence Hill	STAN	F	So.	6-8	205	Glendale, Ariz. (Deer Valley HS)Derrick Low	WSU	G	Jr.	6-2	186	Honolulu, Hawaii (Iolani School)Kyle Weaver	WSU	G	Jr.	6-6	201	Beloit, Wis. (Beloit Memorial HS)Marcus Williams	ARIZ	F	So.	6-7	205	Seattle, Wash. (Roosevelt HS)Nick Young	USC	G/F	Jr.	6-6	195	Los Angeles, Calif. (Cleveland HS)

Honorable Mention (also receiving votes): Ryan Anderson (CAL, Fr., F), Maarty Leunen (ORE, Jr., F), Spencer Hawes (WASH, Fr., C), Brook Lopez (STAN, Fr., F), Luc Richard Mbah a Moute (UCLA, So., F), Jeff Pendergraph (ASU, So., F), Gabe Pruitt (USC, Jr., G), Ivan Radenovic (ARIZ, Sr., F), Mustafa Shakur (ARIZ, Sr., G), Josh Shipp (UCLA, So., F), Lodrick Stewart (USC, Sr., G), Ayinde Ubaka (CAL, Sr., G).


Name	        School 	Pos	Ht	Wt	Hometown (Last School) Ryan Anderson	CAL	F	6-10	235	El Dorado Hills, Calif. (Oak Ridge HS)Chase Budinger	ARIZ	F	6-7	205	Encinitas, Calif. (LaCosta Canyon HS)Taj Gibson	USC	F	6-9	210	Brooklyn, N.Y. (Calvary Christian, San Fernando, Calif.)Spencer Hawes	WASH	C	7-0	250	Seattle, Wash. (Seattle Prep)Brook Lopez	STAN	F	7-0	240	Fresno, Calif (San Joaquin Memorial HS)Tajuan Porter	ORE	G	5-6	160	Detroit, Mich. (Renaissance HS) 

Honorable Mention (also receiving votes): Quincy Pondexter (WASH, F).

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Chase Budinger, Arizona
COACH OF THE YEAR: Tony Bennett, Washington State


AFFLALO makes his second All-Pac-10 appearance. He was also named to the All-Pac-10 Freshman team in 2005. He leads the Bruins, and is third in the conference, averaging 17.2 points per game. Afflalo has scored in double figures in 29 consecutive games and his led the Bruins in scoring in 17 games this year. He's currently the Pac-10's active scoring leader with 1,447 career points, which ranks 21st on UCLA's all-time scoring list. His 199 career three-pointers rank second all-time in Bruin history. He's started 97 of a possible 98 games during his career. He becomes the fifth different Bruin to be honored as Pac-10 Player of the Year, joining Marques Johnson (1977), David Greenwood (1978, 79), Kenny Fields (1983) and Ed O'Bannon (1995).


BUDINGER becomes the first Wildcat to earn Pac-10 Freshman of the Year since Salim Stoudamire in 2002, and the fifth Wildcat overall to earn the rookie honor. He's seventh in the league in scoring (15.8 ppg) and 12th in rebounding (5.9 rpg). He's started all 29 games this season and ranks 10th in the league in minutes played with 33.21 per game, wich is second among all Pac-10 freshmen. He's posted a pair of 30-plus point games this season, including a career-best 32-point effort against Northern Arizona in his home debut on Nov. 15.


BENNETT, 37, has guided WASHINGTON STATE to a 24-6 record, including a 13-5 mark and second-place finish in Pac-10 play. It's the Cougars best league mark and finish since posting a 14-4 record for a second-place finish in 1982-83. The 24 victories are the most by a Washington State squad since the 1940-41 team posted a 26-6 record. Bennett becomes the fourth coach to earn the honor in his first season in the Pac-10. He joins Gary Cunningham (UCLA, 1977-78), Jim Anderson (OSU, 1989-90) and Ben Braun (CAL, 1996-97) as first time winners in their debut seasons in the Pac-10. Bennett becomes the third Cougar coach to be honored, joining George Raveling (1975-76 and 1982-83) and Kelvin Sampson (1990-91).


BY CLASS: 1 senior, 4 juniors, 4 sophomores. All-time low for seniors on the All-Conference team. Previous low was two (2003-04, 1993-94 and 1997-98).


UCLA, WSU - two players each
ARIZ, ORE, STAN, USC, WASH - one player each

Pac-10 All-Freshman
ARIZ, CAL, ORE, STAN, USC, WASH - one player each

DOUBLE-UP: UCLA and WASHINGTON STATE each put a pair of teammates on the All-Conference team. Since 1978-79, it's the 19th time the Bruins have placed multiple players on the squad. For the Cougars, it's just the third time with multiple players (also in 1979-80 and 1995-96).

THE STREAK: ARIZONA has placed a player on the All-Conference team for each of the last 24 seasons. STANFORD is next with 13.

THE VOTE: Coach of the Year, All-Conference and All-Freshman teams are voted on by the coaches. Coaches are not permitted to vote for themselves or their own players for the honors. Players must be listed on 50 percent of the ballots cast by the coaches to be selected. The last time the Pac-10 had an all-league team with nine players was during the 1984-85 season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network