Cassidy Krug Nominated For Honda Sports Award

March 13, 2007

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford's Cassidy Krug has been selected as one of the final four nominees for the 2006-07 Swimming and Diving Honda Sports Award given annually to the top collegiate Woman Athlete in the sport. Krug is the first Stanford diver to ever be nominated for the honor.

'All I can say is it's such a huge honor to be nominated for this award,' said Krug. 'The other nominees are such great swimmers. This is so amazing to me. I finally had the meet of my life [at this year's NCAA's] when it mattered, and this is a reflection of that. I'm so grateful.'

'I'm really impressed and excited, and I'm sure Cassidy is as well,' added Stanford head diving coach Dr. Rick Schavone. 'She has improved dramatically since she's been at Stanford and become even better than I ever dreamed.'

Krug won the 2006-07 NCAA Women's Diver of the Year honor for the first time in her career after an incredible senior season that culminated with a sweep of the 1-meter and 3-meter titles at the 2007 NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championships after doing the same at the NCAA Zone E Meet and Pac-10's. Krug's sweep of the two events in each of the three competitions accounted for her unbeaten run during the 2007 postseason. She became the first Stanford diver to ever win an NCAA 1-meter title and the first since Erin Sones captured the platform in 2001 to capture any NCAA diving event.

She is only the second Stanford women's diver to win NCAA Diver of the Year honors and to capture more than one NCAA title in her career, joining five-time winner Eileen Richetelli (1992-95). Krug completed her collegiate career with seven All-American honors, while becoming just the second women's diver in Stanford history to win at least one All-American honor in each of her four seasons by joining Ashlee Rosenthal in that category. She added a Pac-10 title to the accomplishments of her senior year by taking the 1-meter event in 2003-04 when she was named the Pac-10 Diving Co-Freshman/Newcomer of the Year.

Krug has also been an accomplished diver on the international scene, finishing as high as third in the 3-meter synchro event with Nancilea Underwood at the 2005 China Open. She also won a Senior National title with Underwood in the same event in 2005.

Stanford winners of the Swimming and Diving Honda Sports award have included Jenna Johnson (1985-86, 1988-89), Summer Sanders (1991-92), Janel Jorgensen (1992-93), Jenny Thompson (1994-95), Misty Hyman (1997-98, 2000-01) and Tara Kirk (2003-04).

The other final nominees for the 2006-07 honor are Kara Lynn Joyce (Georgia), Whitney Myers (Arizona) and Dana Vollmer (California). The winner will become a candidate for The Honda-Broderick Cup awarded annually to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. Kirk is the only Stanford student-athlete to ever win The Honda-Broderick Cup for her performances during the 2003-04 season.

The Collegiate Women Sports Awards are sponsored by American Honda Motor, Co., Inc. The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year balloting involves all NCAA-member institutions, with nominees selected from among 12 women chosen as the most outstanding in their sports during the school year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network