UCLA's Noelle Quinn Selected As Wade Trophy Finalist

March 15, 2007

Senior guard Noelle Quinn (Los Angeles, Calif./Bishop Montgomery HS) has been selected as one of 12 finalists for the State Farm Wade Trophy, which honors the top player in women's collegiate basketball.

Quinn, who is also a finalist for the Naismith Award, ended the regular season ranked fourth in the Pac-10 in scoring (17.2 ppg), second in assists (5.75 apg) and 12th in rebounding (6.6 rpg). She has cemented herself as one of UCLA's all-time greats, finishing No. 4 on UCLA's career scoring list with 1,829 points, No. 7 on the assist list with 450 and No. 8 on the rebounding list with 794. Quinn is the only player in school history to record career totals of 1,700 points, 700 rebounds and 400 assists. On the year, Quinn produced seven double-doubles and 10 20-point games. She was also a standout in the classroom, earning third-team Academic All-District honors.

Joining Quinn as finalists are Alison Bales (Duke); Jessica Davenport (Ohio State); Sylvia Fowles (LSU); Katie Gearlds (Purdue); Lindsey Harding (Duke); Crystal Langhorne (Maryland); Ivory Latta (North Carolina); Courtney Paris (Oklahoma); Candace Parker (Tennessee); Bernice Mosby (Baylor); and Candice Wiggins (Stanford).

'These 12 student-athletes are each deserving of The State Farm Wade Trophy, considering their dedication to the institution, coach and teammates as a leader both on and off of the court,' said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. 'Any of these student-athletes would capture the essence of Lily Margaret Wade and would be deserving of this year's award.'

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I Kodak/WBCA All-America Team and will be announced at the Kodak/WBCA All-America Team Press Conference and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio on Saturday, March 31, 2007, at 9:45 a.m. (ET).

Also during the WBCA National Convention, UCLA head coach Kathy Olivier will be honored as a 2007 Russell Athletic/WBCA Victory Club Award Recipient in recognition of her 200th career victory, achieved March 5, 2006. The Russell Athletic/WBCA Victory Club Award is presented to each WBCA-member head coach who achieves career wins of 200, 300, 400, 500 or more, in 100 victory increments. These accomplished coaches will be recognized during the Russell Athletic/WBCA National Coach of the Year Luncheon presented by AstraZeneca on Monday, April 2, 2007, at 12:00 p.m. (ET) in the Crowne Plaza's Grand Ballroom in Cleveland, Ohio.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network