Six Huskies Named To Pac-10 All-Academic Team

March 23, 2007

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Six Huskies, led by second-team selection Erica Schelly, were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic Women's Basketball Team, conference commissioner Tom Hansen announced Friday.

In addition to Schelly's second-team nod, five of her teammates were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic honorable mention team: junior Emily Florence, senior Cameo Hicks, senior Maggie O'Hara, junior Andrea Plouffe and senior Breanne Watson.

Schelly, a senior from Fort Collins, Colo., has a 3.61 grade point average and is a double-major in English and education. The honor is the second of her career after garnering honorable mention acclaim as a sophomore. Schelly played in 26 games this season and as the back-up point guard averaged 1.5 points and 1.0 rebounds.

Hicks, who has a 3.17 grade point average and is majoring business, earned Pac-10 All-Academic honorable mention honors for the third time in her career. O'Hara (3.40 gpa, biology/education major) and Watson (3.44 gpa/communication) also garnered their third career honorable mention nods. Florence (3.35 gpa/communication) and Plouffe (3.30/sociology) were second-time honorable mention honorees.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point-average, be either a starter or significant contributor and have sophomore academic standing.

First Team, Year, GPA, Major

Kate Benz, WSU, Sr., 3.82, Communication/History
Clare Bodensteiner, Stanford, Sr., 3.75, Psychology & MA Education
Aubree Johnson, Arizona State, Sr., 3.62, Kinesiology
Lindsey Pluimer, UCLA, Jr., 3.68, Communication Studies
Emily Westerberg, ASU, Sr., 3.61, Elementary Education

Second Team, Year, GPA, Major
Nicole Berberet, USC, Jr., 3.70, Social Science
Kate Engelbrecht, ASU, So., 3.78, Kinesiology
Jamie Hagiya, USC, Sr., 3.50, Communications
Allison Jaskowiak, USC, Sr., 3.60, English
Erica Schelly, Washington, Sr., 3.61, English/Education

Honorable Mention:
Ashley Allen, Jr., Oregon State; Katie Appleton, So., Washington State; Jessica Arnold, Jr., Arizona; Kelsey Burns, So., Arizona; Kaela Chapdelaine, Jr., Oregon; Amanda DuRocher, So., Washington State; Adriane Ferguson, Sr., Washington State; Emily Florence, Jr., Washington; Carolyn Ganes, Sr., Oregon; Eleanor Haring, Sr., Oregon; Cameo Hicks, Sr., Washington; Shannon Hobson, Jr., Arizona; Briann January, So., Arizona State; Simone Jelks, Jr., USC; Chloe Kerr, Sr., USC; Dani Montgomery, Jr., Washington State; Kristen Newlin, Sr., Stanford; Jill Noe, Grad., Arizona State; Maggie O'Hara, Sr., Washington; Danielle Orsillo, So., Arizona State; Linda Pace, Sr., Arizona; Reagan Pariseau, Jr., Arizona State; Andrea Plouffe, Jr., Washington; Noelle Quinn, Sr., UCLA; Brooke Smith, Sr., Stanford; Kirsten Thompson, So., Arizona State; Breanne Watson, Sr., Washington; Shaina Zaidi, Sr., UCLA.

-- --

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network