Clare Bodensteiner Named First Team Pac-10 All-Academic

March 25, 2007

STANFORD, Calif.- Seniors Clare Bodensteiner, Kristen Newlin andBrooke Smith have been named to the Pac-10 All-Academic squad, as announced by Commissioner Tom Hansen.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete musthave a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter orsignificant contributor.

Bodensteiner was tabbed to the First Team. A psychology major completingcoursework toward her master's degree in the School of Education,Bodensteiner participated in 26 games this year off the bench, averaging1.1 points and 0.6 rebounds per game in just over seven minutes of playingtime.

Newlin and Smith, the only two Cardinal players to start every game thisyear, were Honorable Mention selections.

A Cultural & Social Anthropoloy major, Newlin averaged 7.0 points and ateam-best 7.9 rebounds per game in 34 starts. She made 51-percent of herattempts from the field, blocked 44 shots and notched six double-doubles.

Smith, a Human Biology major, ranked second on the squad in scoring (13.9ppg) and rebounding (7.6 rpg) while leading the club with 120 assists.Smith has scored in double-figures a team-best 28 times.

All-Academic First Team
Kate Benz, WSU, Sr., 3.82, Communication/History
Clare Bodensteiner, STAN, Sr., 3.75, Psychology & MA Education
Aubree Johnson, ASU, Sr., 3.62, Kinesiology
Lindsey Pluimer, UCLA, Jr., 3.68, Communications Studies
Emily Westerberg, ASU, Sr., 3.61, Elementary Education

All-Academic Second Team
Nicole Berberet, USC, Jr., 3.70, Social Science (Psychology)
Kate Engelbrecht, ASU, So., 3.78, Kinesiology
Jamie Hagiya, USC, Sr., 3.50, Communications
Allison Jaskowiak, USC, Sr., 3.60, English
Erica Schelly, WASH, Sr., 3.61, English/Education

Honorable Mention
Ashley Allen, Jr., OSU; Katie Appleton, So., WSU; Jessica Arnold,Jr., ARIZ; Kelsey Burns, So., ARIZ; Kaela Chapdelaine, Jr., ORE;Amanda DuRocher, So., WSU; Adriane Ferguson, Sr., WSU; EmilyFlorence, Jr., WASH; Carolyn Ganes, Sr., ORE; Eleanor Haring, Sr.,ORE; Cameo Hicks, Sr., WASH; Shannon Hobson, Jr., ARIZ; BriannJanuary, So., ASU; Simone Jelks, Jr., USC; Chloe Kerr, Sr., USC; DaniMontgomery, Jr., WSU; Kristen Newlin, Sr., STAN; Jill Noe, Grad.,ASU; Maggie O'Hara, Sr., WASH; Danielle Orsillo, So., ASU; LindaPace, Sr., ARIZ; Reagan Pariseau, Jr., ASU; Andrea Plouffe, Jr.,WASH; Noelle Quinn, Sr., UCLA; Brooke Smith, Sr., STAN; KirstenThompson, So., ASU; Breanne Watson, Sr., WASH; Shaina Zaidi, Sr., UCLA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder