Five Sun Devil Wrestlers Earn Academic All-Pac-10 Accolades

March 28, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Five members of the Arizona State University wrestling team have been selected to the 2007 Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling All-Academic teams, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Wednesday. Led by the first-team accolades of Jason Trulson, the five selections for the Sun Devils marks the most in one year in the history of the program, surpassing the four selections attained in both 2006 and 2000.

Trulson, the team's starter at 197 pounds this season, earned his second career selection to the academic lists after also being selected to the first team last year. His selection makes him just the third Sun Devil to earn first team accolades twice in a career and brings the program's total first-team selections to 14 total.

Also selected to the Pac-10's honorable mention team were Robert Galvan, Pat Payne, Quinton Pruett and Chris Remsen. Payne, who was sidelined much of the year due to injury, earned his second career selection to the academic lists after garner second team honors last year. The other three Sun Devils earned their first selections to the conference's academic lists.

2007 Academic All-Pac-10 Honorees
Arizona State selections
Jason Trulson - First Team
Robert Galvan - Honorable Mention
Pat Payne - Honorable Mention
Quinton Pruett - Honorable Mention
Chris Remsen - Honorable Mention

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network