No. 1 Cal Looks To Defend Four Consecutive San Diego Crew Classic Titles

March 28, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Bears Head South: This week the California women's crew team heads to the San Diego Crew Classic at Mission Bay, March 31 - April 1. Last year, the varsity eight won its fourth consecutive Jessop-Whittier Cup, defeating strong crew teams from USC and Washington State. The Trojans and Cougars will be back this year and providing tough competition for the Bears once again.

The Competition: This year's Jessop-Whittier field lists several teams ranked in the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association/USRowing top 20, with both Cal and USC in the top 10. In Cal's first heat, the Bears will face off against No. 11 Stanford, No. 18 Washington State, Miami, San Diego State and Purdue. The rest of the field includes No. 8 USC, No. 12 Clemson, No. 14 UCLA, Oregon State and Loyola.

Complete Racing Schedule:
Women's Varsity (Jessop-Whittier Cup)

Heat 1 (8:40 a.m.): Cal, Washington State, Stanford, Miami, San Diego State, Purdue
Heat 2 (8:50 a.m.): USC, UCLA, Oregon State, Clemson, Loyola

Women's JV (Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy)
Heat 1 (9:50 a.m.): Cal, USC, Oregon State, Miami, Kansas State, San Diego
Heat 2 (10:00 a.m.): Washington State, UCLA, Stanford, Clemson, San Diego State, Loyola, Chapman

Women's Novice (Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy)
Heat 1 (10:50 a.m.): Oregon State, Washington State, Clemson, UC San Diego, Orange Coast, Colorado, Arizona State
Heat 2 (11:00 a.m.): Cal, USC, Kansas State, St. Joseph's, Santa Clara, UC Santa Barbara, Chapman
Heat 3 (11:10 a.m.): UCLA, Stanford, UC Davis, SDSU, West Virginia, UC Irvine, Sonoma State

Women's Open (Carley Copley Cup)
Heat 1 (2:10 p.m.): LARC, USC, UCLA, Santa Clara, St. Mary's, Lake Union, Stanford
Heat 2 (2:20 p.m.): SDRC, Cal Alumnae, River City, UCSD, Bair Island, USD, Colorado
Heat 3 (2:30 p.m.): UC Irvine Alumnae, Chapman, UC Santa Barbara, Cal, USC Alumnae, Miami, SDSU

Last year in the San Diego Crew Classic: For a fourth consecutive year, the Bears came out victorious in the Jessop-Whittier Cup, defeating USC by two seconds. The JV 8 won the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy in one of the closest races of the day, defeating Washington State by just .62 seconds. The Novice 8's narrowly beat Texas on their way to the SeaWorld Trophy, and the Open 8 outraced Notre Dame by 16 seconds.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network