Stanford Qualifies All Three Boats On First Day Of San Diego Crew Classic

March 31, 2007

Stanford qualified three boats for the finals of its first race of the season at the San Diego Crew Classic on Saturday.

'This is our first sprint race of the year, and our first goal was toqualify all three boats for the finals, and we're happy to have accomplishedthat,' said Stanford head coach Yasmin Farooq. 'The team has had a solid winter of prep after a super fall season, and it was apparent that everyone was excited to get back to racing. We see this regatta as a stepping stone for the rest of the season, so we'll take tomorrow's results and build on them.'

The San Diego Crew Classic concludes on Sunday.

Varsity 8: Kerry Birk, Jenifer Brown, Bea Gordon, Alex Hasbach, Lauren Hofmayer, Elle Logan, Steph Morrison, Jessica Reel and Carly York.
Notes: Birk and Morrison competed in the Under-23 World Championships last year for the United States and Canada respectively. Birk's American eight won the gold.

2nd Varsity 8: Kathy Altman, Sophie Aubrey, Adrienne Fritsch, Cassie Kull, Julia Liebner, Kerry Pigott, Eva Sheridan, Sarah Vick and Lena Wolfe.

Novice 8: Drusia Dickson, Di Eaton, Kelly Fero, Melissa Hulme, Katie O'Neil, Maria Petrakis, Sonia Poltoratski, Olivia Trowers and Amelia Carr made their Stanford debut in the novice eight.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder