Stanford Men Win Second Consecutive Copley Cup, Women Finish Third

April 1, 2007

The Stanford men's varsity eight defeated the number two ranked Cal Bears, Oregon State and Purdue to capture their second consecutive Copley Cup trophy at the San Diego Crew Classic. Stanford's women's varsity eight placed third in the grand final, and the Stanford lightweight women beat Chapman and Arizona State to win the A.W. Coggeshell Cup Women's Lightweight Final.

The regatta marked the official start of the spring racing season for all three Stanford teams.

'It's extremely gratifying to be a part of this program,' stated director of rowing and head men's coach Craig Amerkhanian. The Stanford rowing teams represented the excellence that is Stanford University.'

For the men's eight, the back to back victory marked their second Copley Cup victory in the history of the 34-year-old regatta. The lineup of Nate Rooks, Donny Simkin, Kevin Baum, Mark Murphy, Silas Stafford, Ottavio Siani, Dave Creighton, Alex Osborne and coxswain Ariel Dixon posted a time of 6:09.44 defeating an international squad from Cal by just over a second.

'It was a great race between two of the top crews in this country,' Amerkhanian said.

The Stanford women's eight finished third in the Jessop-Whittier Cup Grand Final behind USC and Cal, and ahead of UCLA, Washington State and Oregon State. USC led the field by open water with Cal, Stanford and UCLA overlapping one another over the course. Stanford oarswomen Kerry Birk, Jenifer Brown, Bea Gordon, Alex Hasbach, Lauren Hofmayer, Elle Logan, Steph Morrison, Jessica Reel and Carly York secured the top three finish, just one second behind the top-ranked Golden Bears.

'It's awesome to see the team dive into the season and race with such heart and appreciation for one another,' said head Coach Yasmin Farooq. 'I'm really proud of the way all of our athletes handled themselves this past week and in the racing this weekend. They continue to prove to themselves, to their competitors and to me that they are a cohesive and unified force.'

The Stanford lightweights won the A.W. Coggeshell Cup by more than 30 seconds over Chapman and Arizona State.

'I thought the team performed really well in the windy conditions, certainly better than they have all year,' said head coach Al Acosta. 'We have a lot of work to do between now and the Windermere Cup, but we're definitely on track.'

In other key races, the Stanford open men's eight finished second in the Joan Ward Memorial Trophy open men's race. Contributors to the effort included Ben Briggs, Justin Brown, John DiCola, Jeff Cornelius, Ryan DuChene, Marco Caflisch, Ogi Zivojnovic, Graham Carroll and Micki Ream.

The women's second varsity eight of Kathy Altman, Sophie Aubrey, Adrienne Fritsch, Cassie Kull, Julia Liebner, Kerry Pigott, Eva Sheridan, Sarah Vick and Lena Wolfe finished sixth in the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy Women's JV Grand Final.

The women's novice eight of Drusia Dickson, Di Eaton, Kelly Fero, Melissa Hulme, Katie O'Neil, Maria Petrakis, Sonia Poltoratski, Olivia Trowers and Amelia Carr finished third in the Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy Women's Collegiate Novice Grand Final.

The men's novice eight finished fourth in the Derek Guelker Memorial Cup Men's Collegiate Novice Grand Final.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network