Burkhart, Cochran and Cruz Grace Finalists List for the 2007 USA Softball Player of the Year Award

April 5, 2007

Oklahoma City---The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today the 25 finalists for the 2007 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered one of the most prestigious honors in women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.


The Top 25 is comprised of players representing 17 colleges and six different NCAA Division I Conferences.  Among the list are 12 seniors, seven juniors, five sophomores and a red-shirt freshman. Five of the finalists were among the Top 25 finalists in 2006 including Tennessee's Monica Abbott, Arizona's Caitlin Lowe and Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher who were also top 10 finalists last year.


The Top 25 finalists for the 2007 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, listed in alphabetical order, are:

Monica Abbott              Tennessee         Salinas, Calif.                      Senior            Pitcher         

Katie Burkhart         Arizona State San Luis Obispo,Calif.  Junior    Pitcher         

Kaitlin Cochran        Arizona State Yorba Linda, Calif.   Sophomore  Outfield        

Garland Cooper             Northwestern   Mission Viejo, Calif.            Senior            First Base

Bianca Cruz             Arizona State Surprise, Ariz.             Senior        Third Base

Norrelle Dickson           Oklahoma         Orange, Calif.                     Senior            Third Base

Kristie Fox                    Arizona            San Diego, Calif.                 Senior            Shortstop

Megan Gibson               Texas A&M      Spring, Texas                      Junior            RHP/1B

Leslie Klein                   LSU                  Sunrise, Fla.                        Senior            Outfield

Danielle Lawrie             Washington      Langley, B.C.                      Sophomore    Pitcher

Caitlin Lever                 Georgia Tech    Amherst, N.Y.                    Senior            Outfield

Caitlin Lowe                 Arizona            Tustin, Calif.                      Senior            Outfield           

Brooke Marnitz             Kentucky          Lexington, Ken.                   Senior            Shortstop

Ashley Monceaux          Baylor              Tucson, Ariz.                      Senior            Infield

Chrissy Owens              Alabama           Miami, Fla.                         Junior            Pitcher

Lauren Parker               Alabama           Port Neches, Texas             Sophomore    Infield

Amanda Renth              Missouri           Mascoutah, Ill.                    Junior            Infield

Samantha Ricketts         Oklahoma         San Jose, Calif.                    Sophomore    First Base

Jenn Salling                   Oregon             Port Coquitlam, B.C.         (RS)Freshman  Shortstop

Amanda Scarborough    Texas A&M      Magnolia, Texas                  Junior            RHP/1B

Lindsay Schutzler          Tennessee         Monterey, Calif.                  Senior            Outfield

Holly Tankersley           ULL                 Kirbyville, Texas                 Junior            DP/Outfield     

Angela Tincher             Virginia Tech    Eagle Rock, VA                  Junior            Pitcher             

Courtney Totte            Oklahoma State Lawton, Okla.                     Senior            Catcher

Tammy Williams           Northwestern   Roscoe, Mo.                       Sophomore    Shortstop         


On May 9, just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named. On May 23 the list will be cut to three and those final three players will travel to Oklahoma City for the announcement of the winner at the 2007 NCAA Women's College World Series.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution at a sporting event in the fall.


Cat Osterman became the first three-time winner of the National Player of the Year Award in 2006 after leading her Longhorns to the Big 12 regular season title and a berth into the NCAA Women's College World Series. Past winners of the award include Stacey Nuveman (UCLA-2002), Osterman (Texas-2003, 2005 and 2006) and Jessica Van der Linden (Florida State-2004).


For complete stats and photos of the 2007 Top 25 Finalists visit the 'College Corner' section on USA Softball's official website - www.usasoftball.com.


About ASA

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation's largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 84 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 230,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit www.asasoftball.com.

About USA Softball

USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men's, Women's, Junior Boys' and Junior Girls' National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women's National Team is one of the only two women's sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won eight World Championship titles including the last six consecutive. For more information about USA Softball, please visit www.usasoftball.com.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder