Pac-10 Announces 2007 Sportsmanship Award Winners

April 23, 2007

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Mitch Canham, senior catcher for OREGON STATE and Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, senior golfer for STANFORD, have been named recipients of the 2007 Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Canham, a native of Lake Stevens, Wash., has been a three-year starter behind the plate and in the infield on the Oregon State baseball team, which captured the 2006 national championship. A 2007 preseason second team All-American, he currently leads the team in batting average (.371), runs (36), home runs (8), slugging percentage (.645), walks (23) and on-base percentage (.490).

Despite such tragedies in his life including the death of his mother and injuries to his throwing arm, Canham has been a tower of strength for his family, teammates and coaches. Outside of college athletics, he counsels youth about the hazards of drugs, organizes fundraisers for the Special Olympics and local cancer patients, and participates in the Habitat for Humanity program. Canham is a two-time Pac-10 All-Academic selection majoring in business.

Tangtiphaiboontana, a native of Long Beach, Calif., has been a solid performer for the Cardinal, competing in all 11 events as a junior in 2005-06 and totaling more than 40 in her career to date. As team captain, she has posted seven top-25 performances this season, including a 75-71-73--219 to take second place in the Topy Cup in early September. She is currently carrying a 74.1 stroke average to rank third on the team heading into the Pac-10 championship this week.

After suffering the loss of both of her parents in a tragic car accident her junior year of high school, Tangtiphaiboontana has overcome such loss by excelling in the classroom and giving back to her community. Named a Pac-10 All-Academic second team selection in 2006, Tangtiphaiboontana spends numerous hours volunteering at the Lucile Packard Children's Hospital in the Baby Buddy Program, caring for infants in the Special Care Nursery.

The Sportsmanship Award is selected by members of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and is based on good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in participation of intercollegiate athletics, as well as a demonstration of good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Conference award winners are then nominated for the NCAA Division I Sportsmanship Award.

Also nominated for this year's Pac-10 Sportsmandship Award were Ivan Radenovich and Maritza Mora, ARIZONA; Joseph Persichina, ARIZONA STATE; Alex Pribble and Krista Foster, CALIFORNIA; Ta'Tyana McElroy, OREGON STATE; men's gymnastics team, STANFORD; Ryan Kalil and Shay Murphy, USC; Andy Kuharsky and Courtney Thompson, WASHINGTON; Simi Reynolds and Kelly Ramirez, WASHINGTON STATE.

Previous Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award winners include Anna Key of California (2006), who was also named the NCAA Division I Sportsmanship Award winner, Eric Nygard (2006) of Washington State, Channing Frye of Arizona (2005), Cara Chlebicki of California (2005) and Grayling Love of Arizona State (2004).

PAC-10 CONFERENCE: Named Mitch Canham of Oregon State and Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana of Stanford winners of the 2007 Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network