Skip to main content

Academic All-Big 12 Track And Field Team Announced

May 8, 2007

DALLAS - Seniors Mikaela Raddatz, Jackie Sturm and Brent Vaughn earned their third appearance on the Academic All-Big 12 First Team, as announced by the conference on Tuesday. Colorado had 21 student-athletes on the first and second teams, six more than last season.


Raddatz will graduate with a degree in Sociology and Psychology and has been a mainstay on the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll. Sturm will graduate with a degree in integrated physiology and has also been named to the Big 12 Commissioner's List on several occasions. Vaughn, an applied math major is a seven-time member of the Commissioner's Honor roll.


Pete Janson and Daniel Kenney are making their second appearance on the first team. Kenney has one of the best grade point averages on the team at 3.971. Janson was a member of the second team in 2005.


Amberly Casey is a three-time member of the academic team (once on the first team and twice on the second team) and will graduate this may with a degree in finance.


To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.0 grade point average or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are eligible.


Colorado will compete in the 11th annual Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field Championships, May 11-13 at the Ed Weir Track on the University of Nebraska campus in Lincoln. 


Men's First Team

Anthony Chiulli, Sr., Management, Memphis, Tenn.

Mark Ebert, Jr., Environmental Engineering, Denver, Colo.

Peter Janson, Sr., Biology-EPOB, Dallas, Texas

Daniel Kenney, Sr., Business Administration, Fort Collins, Colo.

Kenyon Neuman, So., Business, Bend, Ore.

George Pincock, Sr., Integrated Physiology, Carson City, Nev.

Brent Vaughn, Sr., Applied Math, Aurora, Colo.


Women's First Team

Jenny Barringer, So., Political Science, Oviedo, Fla.

Amberly Casey, Sr., Finance, Boulder, Colo.

Sara Ensrud, So., Psychology and Spanish, Gering, Neb.

Rachel Gioscia, RFr., Integrated Physiology, Buena Vista, Colo.

Erin Marston, Sr., Integrated Physiology, Parker, Colo.

Veronica Maul, So., Biochemistry, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Mikaela Raddatz, Sr., Sociology and Psychology, Apple Valley, Minn.

Jackie Sturm, Sr., English, Golden, Colo.


Men's Second Team

James Begley, Sr., History, Aurora, Colo.

Greg Castro, Sr., Advertising, Boulder, Colo.

Bradley Harkrader, So., Chemical Engineering, Thornton, Colo.

Ryan Willis, Sr., Finance, Milwaukee, Wis.


Women's Second Team

Sasha Abuan, Jr., Finance, Westminster, Colo.

Cortney Hutmacher, Sr., Integrated Physiology, Killdeer, N.D.



-- colorado track and field --