ASU's Torain Named to's Preseason Senior All-America First-Team

July 6, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. -

ArizonaStateUniversity senior running back Ryan Torain has been named to's Preseason Senior All-America first-team, the website announced.


One of the top ballcarriers in college football, Torain totaled 1,229 rushing yards on 223 carries with seven rushing touchdowns in 2006, the most by a Sun Devil back since 1975 and became the first ASU rusher to surpass 1,000 rushing yards since 2001.  The ShawneeMission, Kan., native also earned second-team All-Pacific-10 Conference accolades as a junior last season, and has also been named to the 2007 Maxwell Award watch list, an honor given annually to college football's most outstanding player.


Torain and the Sun Devils kickoff the 2007 season at Sun Devil Stadium against San JoseState on Sept. 1. Preseason All-Americans: Seniors




            First Team                                                     Second Team

WR      Adarius Bowman, Oklahoma State                Eddie Royal, Virginia Tech

WR      Early Doucet, LSU                                         Limas Sweed, Texas

TE       Martin Rucker, Missouri                                 Fred Davis, USC
OT       Sam Baker, USC                                             TonyHills, Texas

OT       Barry Richardson, Clemson                            Jake Long, Michigan

OG      Shannon Tevaga, UCLA                                Jordan Grimes, Purdue

OG      Will Arnold, LSU                                           Adam Kraus, Michigan

OC      John Sullivan, Notre Dame                             Cody Sullivan, Texas A&M  

RB       Ryan Torain, ARIZONASTATE       Justin Forsett, California

RB       Mike Hart, Michigan                                       Allen Patrick, Oklahoma

QB      Colt Brennan, Hawaii                                     ChadHenne, Michigan

PK       Art Carmody, Louisville                                 Connor Barth, North Carolina




            First Team                                                     Second Team

DE       Quentin Groves, Georgia                                Lawrence Jackson, USC
DE       Chris Long, Virginia                                       Tommy Blake, TCU
DT       Glenn Dorsey, LSU                                        Frank Okam, Texas
DT       DeMario Pressley, N.C. State                         Sedrick Ellis, USC
LB       Dan Connor, Penn State                                 Keith Rivers, USC
LB       Jasper Brinkley, South Carolina                      Phillip Wheeler, Georgia Tech
LB       Xavier Adibi, Virginia Tech                           Shawn Crable, Michigan
DC      Antoine Cason, Arizona                                 Chevis Jackson, LSU
DC      Terrell Thomas, USC                                      Dwight Lowery, San JoseState

DS       Jamar Adams, Michigan                                 Jonathan Hefney, Tennessee
DS       Darien Williams, Oklahoma                            Dennis Keyes, UCLA
PT        Ken DeBauche, Wisconsin                             Waylon Prather, San Jose State



Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network