Lindsey Nelson Earns US Open Qualifier Wild Card

Aug. 27, 2007

USC's Lindsey Nelson not only was honored as a 2007 Collegiate ITA All-Star last week in New York during the US Open festivities, the senior two-time NCAA finalist also was awarded a place in the US Open Qualifying Tournament. Nelson was one of nine women to receive qualifying wild cards for the chance to work into the main draw of the esteemed US Open.

Nelson's 2007 US Open debut put her up against France's Stephanie Foretz in the first round at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center. Nelson pushed her opponent to the limit in the first set, edged out in a tiebreaker 7-5 before falling in the match 7-6 (5), 6-1. Also receiving wild cards into the qualifying play were Hilary Barte, Violette Huck, Asia Muhammad, Melanie Oudin, Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, Alison Riske, Anna Tatishvili and CoCo Vandeweghe.

Also during the US Open activities in New York, Nelson was presented with an award as a member of the 2007 ITA All-Star Team. USTA President Jane Brown Grimes, ITA Executive Director David A. Benjamin and former Mayor of New York City David Dinkins were all involved in the presentation of the award, which is in its 24th year of existence. The ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's tennis players from the season-ending Fila Collegiate Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as champions from the 2006 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2007 NCAA Championships.

Nelson finished the 2007 season ranked No. 3 in the nation after earning her second straight honor as a Honda Award Finalist - the only Trojan to have been named a finalist twice. She had reached the NCAA Singles Final for second consecutive year, following up a run to winning the Pac-10 Singles Championship, to end the season with a 31-8 overall singles record. Joining Nelson on the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team are: Sara Andundsen of North Carolina, Liz Bondi of DePaul, Ana Cetnik of TCU, Cohen of Miami, Megan Falcon of LSU, Jenna Long of North Carolina, Megan Moulton-Levy of William and Mary, Jelena Pandzik of Fresno Pacific, Siwosz of Cowley College, Iuliia Stupak of Armstrong Atlantic State, Anna Sydorska of TCU and Katarina Zoricic of William and Mary.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network