Stanford's Katy Trotter Named Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Postgraduate Scholarship Winner

Aug. 27, 2007

Former Cardinal cross-country runner Katy Trotter, along with Arizona State's Kal Clark, are the inaugural winners of the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Postgraduate Scholarship, as announced today by Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen.

Trotter and Clark were chosen from a pool of Pac-10 postgraduate scholarship winners, which included 17 male and 21 female recipients. These student-athletes were recognized by the Pac-10 and corporate sponsor Oroweat for their overall excellence in athletics, academics, service and commitment to graduate education. Each winner will receive a $10,000 scholarship for graduate school.

Trotter, a native of Little Silver, N.J., was an eight-time All-American, a four-year letter winner and an All-Pac-10 performer. She helped guide her Cardinal teams to three cross-country national titles during her collegiate career. She ran a wide variety of events, which included the 3,000m steeplechase in which she set the Stanford record with a time of 10:07:55. Trotter was a three-time second team Pac-10 All-Academic selection and is currently training for the 2008 Olympics.

The 2006-07 institutional Pac-10 postgraduate scholarship winners received a $3,000 scholarship and are:

Arizona: Adam Ritter, Holly Kast, Kathryn Elofson
Arizona State: Jesse Ainsworth, Kal Clark, Cassidy Farwell, Heidi Knabe
California: Alex Pribble, Daniel Sebescen, Erin Reilly, Elyse Wong
Oregon: Drew Larson, Eric Hastings, Suzie Barnes, Kristen Bitter
Oregon State: Bobby Pfennigs, Jeremy Larsen, Melissa Onstad, Neoma Palmer
Stanford: Mike Silva, Donny Simkin, Cassidy Krug, Katy Trotter
UCLA: Eric Chaghouri, Emily Feher, Alexandra McGoodwin, Jackie Nguyen
USC: J.J. Owens, Pavol Valovic, Kinga Marciszewska, Lindsay Parker
Washington: Martin Bingisser, Jon Hickey, Aisha Grigsby, Cameo Hicks
Washington State: Lindsay Backhouse, Kaylee Gardner

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network