Ryan Torain Named A Candidate For Doak Walker Award

Aug. 28, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University senior running back Ryan Torain has been a candidate for the Doak Walker Award, the trophy awarded to the nation's top running back.

The senior from Shawnee Mission, Kansas begins his second season in Tempe after turning in a memorable 2006. Torain rushed for 1,229 rushing yards, the most by a Sun Devil back since 1975 and became the first ASU rusher to surpass 1,000 rushing yards since 2001. He added seven touchdown runs and earned second-team All-Pacific-10 Conference accolades.

The Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select the semifinalists on November 12, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists to be announced on November 19. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on November 26 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2007 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN along with other NCFAA member awards on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 6. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at The Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Friday, February 15, 2008.

The award, in its 18th year, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Torain has been named to the Maxwell Preseason Watch List along with being named to numerous preseason All-American and All-Pac-10 teams.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network