O'Brien National Quarterback Award Begins Online Voting

Sept. 6, 2007

FORT WORTH, Texas - College football fans can start casting their votes for the 2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien). Unlike any other award in college football, The O'Brien will institute a fan vote that will count as 5% of the final tally. This is the first time in the award's history that fans' opinions will influence the selection process.

'We're thrilled to be adding the fan vote to our selection process,' said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation. 'For many fans, college football season is year round, so they are passionate, enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their teams. This gives them the opportunity to validate their opinions.'

Fans will be able to vote for the starting quarterback from any of the 119 Division I-A football programs, leaving room for the possibility of a quarterback who is not on the Watch List (published last week) to win the award. Fans can vote once daily on The O'Brien's updated Web site, www.DaveyOBrien.com, in hopes of moving their pick to the final round.

The top three fan vote recipients will be added to the semifinalist list, which will then be refined to three finalists and the winner. During these rounds of voting the fan vote will count as 5%. The O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6.

'We understand that college football's electric atmosphere is not only because of exciting plays on the field, but also feeds off of the tradition, tailgating and fan participation at the games,' said Moorman. 'We want the fans to be excited about The O'Brien and take some ownership in the award.'

The addition of the fan vote component is the first of many new programs in the works for The O'Brien in order to encourage more fan involvement.

'We intend to add features to the Web site throughout the season so The O'Brien can be an integral part of the fan experience,' said Moorman.

The O'Brien will be one of only two college football awards to include a fan vote in their selection process. It will share that honor with the Heisman Memorial Trophy, whose winner is chosen by one fan vote and votes from 924 other electors.

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien helps to instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation provides scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.com.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network