Media Picks Stanford To Win Eighth Consecutive Pac-10 Title

Oct. 29, 2007

STANFORD, Calif. - One week after being named the preseason Pac-10 favorite by the coaches, the seven-time defending conference champion Stanford Cardinal women's basketball team was also made the favorite for this year's conference title in the poll of Pac-10 women's basketball media members that was released late Monday morning. The Cardinal received all but one of the 18 first-place votes for a total of 179 points to top the poll for the eighth year in a row.

Led by returning starters Candice Wiggins, a three-time Kodak/WBCA and Associated Press All-American, 2006-07 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year Jayne Appel, and junior forward Jillian Harmon (7.7 ppg, 4.9 rpg last year), the Cardinal looks to build even more upon last year's 29-5 (17-1 Pac-10) mark and its 20th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance.

Head coach Tara VanDerveer enters her 22nd season at the helm of the Cardinal program, boasting a career record of 537-133 on The Farm, and a 689-184 overall mark over 28 seasons as a head coach.

Stanford will also have at least six of its contests televised on Fox Sports Net during the 2007-08 season, the Pacific-10 conference announced today as it released its women's basketball television schedule for the upcoming season Wednesday afternoon.

Arizona State came in second with 154 points and one first-place vote, while California just trailed the Sun Devils with 150 points for third place. USC was picked to finish fourth with 117 points, while Washington grabbed 101 points to place fifth, and UCLA took sixth-place with a total of 98 points. The Bruins were followed by Oregon (74), Arizona (53), Oregon State (43) and Washington State (21).

Arizona State, which journeyed the deepest into the postseason among Pac-10 teams last season, broke the single-season school record for wins (25) with 31 overall victories. Under 11th-year head coach Charli Turner Thorne, ASU has posted 20 or more wins five times in the last seven seasons.

California, led by Pac-10 Coach of the Year Joanne Boyle and Pac-10 Player of the Year Devanei Hampton, finished with a 23-9 overall record last season while advancing to its second straight NCAA Tournament appearance.

Four Pac-10 teams qualified for NCAA postseason Tournament play in 2006-07, marking the fourth consecutive season that four or more Conference teams have advanced to the tournament.

Following are the results of the preseason media poll (points 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1, first place votes are in parentheses). The results of the preseason all-conference team will be released Tues., Oct. 30.


Team Pts. (First-place votes)
1. Stanford 179 (17)
2. Arizona State 154 (1)
3. California 150
4. USC 117
5. Washington 101
6. UCLA 98
7. Oregon 74
8. Arizona 53
9. Oregon State 43
10. Washington State 21

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder