UW Crews Win Featured Races at Portland Loop

Nov. 4, 2007

PORTLAND, Ore. - Both Washington men's crews staged convincing victories Saturday during the 19th-annual Portland Loop Regatta on the Willamette River's Lake Oswego-Oaks Park course.

The Huskies' varsity crew, coxed by Katelin Snyder, won the men's championship eight event, defeating Oregon State by nearly 49 seconds. UW completed the 7-kilometer course in 20-minutes, 24.13-seconds. The Beavers placed a distant second in 21:12.95.

Washington's lineup included the majority of rowers from the crew that won two of three events at the prestigious Oklahoma Regatta, Oct. 13-14 and was defeated in the other only by the senior national teams from the United States and Canada. Four athletes from the Huskies' top boat were members of the crew that won the 2007 national championship at the IRA Regatta.

UW's other entry, the second varsity eight, was equally impressive. Coxswain Micah Perrin directed the Huskies to a 53-second triumph in the men's collegiate eight competition. UW crossed the finish line in 20:45.97, followed by runner-up Oregon State in 21:39.95. The Beavers second entry placed third in 23:11.80.

The Portland Loop implemented a head racing format, a change from the straight, 2,000-meter courses customarily contested by collegians. Crews started from a single-file line at set intervals and the race was conducted in a time-trial format. Crews navigated along the contour of the river.

The Husky rowers conclude the fall racing session on Sunday, Nov. 11 with the Head of the Lake Regatta that begins at 8 a.m. in Seattle's Lake Union. The largest fall rowing regatta west of the Mississippi, the Head of the Lake annually attracts over 2,500 rowers competing in 500 boats from the leading college, high school, masters and elite-level rowing programs in the United States and Canada.

Portland Loop Regatta
Willamette River; Portland, Ore.
November 3, 2007

Men's Championship Eights
1. Washington 20:24.13
2. Oregon State 21:12.95

WASHINGTON LINEUP (varsity eight)
Cox - Katelin Snyder (Jr. / Winter Park, Fla. / Winter Park)
Stroke - Will Crothers (Jr. / Kingston, Ontario / Kingston CVI)
7 - Heath Allen (Sr. / Durango, Colo. / Durango)
6 - Jessiah Johnson (Jr. / Mercer Island, Wash. / Mercer Island)
5 - Simon Taylor (So. / Hamilton, New Zealand / Hamilton Boy's)
4 - Bart-Jan Caron (Jr. / Millbay, B.C. / Shawnigan Lake)
3 - Roko Svast (So. / Split, Croatia/ 5th Gymnasium)
2 - Toby Dankbaar (Sr. / Sydney, Australia / St. Joseph's)
Bow - Lowell Neal (Jr. / Los Alamos, N.M. / Los Alamos)

Men's Collegiate Eights
1. Washington 20:45.97
2. Oregon State 21:29.95
3. Oregon State 'B' 23:11.80

WASHINGTON LINEUP (second varsity eight)
cox - Micah Perrin (Sr. / Lynnwood, Wash. / Meadowdale)
stroke - David VanBolt (Jr. / Ann Arbor, Mich. / Huron)
7 - Steve Full (Sr, / Cumberland, Maine / Tabor Academy)
6 - Andrew Beaton (Sr. / Spokane, Wash. / Mead)
5 - Blaise Didier (So. / San Francisco, Calif. / John O'Connell)
4 - Derek DeVries (Sr. / Granger, Wash. / Sunnyside Christian)
3 - Dane Robbins (So. / Mercer Island, Wash. / Mercer Island)
2 - Ryan Huntoon (Sr. / Carlisle, Pa. / Carlisle)
bow - Graham Oglend (So. / Shawnigan Lake, B.C. / Frances Kelsey)

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder