Defensive Lineman Bruce Davis Named a Semifinalist for Bednarik Award

Nov. 7, 2007

Senior defensive lineman Bruce Davis has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, presented annually to the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The candidates are chosen by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

Davis is one of three Pac-10 players to be named a semifinalist as Arizona defensive back Antoine Cason and USC defensive end Sedrick Ellis also made the cut.

This season, Davis has tallied 9.5 sacks in 9 games and is currently second in the Pac-10 and tied for sixth in the nation in sacks per game (1.06). He also has 10.5 tackles for a loss, a fumble caused and a fumble recovery during the 2007 season.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award
Ali Highsmith, LSU, LB, Sr.
Calais Campbell, Miami (FL), DE, Jr
Xavier Adibi, Virginia Tech, LB, Sr.
James Laurinatis, Ohio State, LB, Sr.
Dan Connor, Penn State, LB, Jr.
J Leman, Illinois, LB, Sr.
Shawn Crable, Michigan, LB, Sr.
Jordan Dizon, Colorado, LB, Sr.
Chris Long, Virginia, DE, Sr.
Glenn Dorsey, LSU, DL, Sr.
Sedrick Ellis, USC, DL, Sr.
George Selvie, South Florida, DL, So.
Bruce Davis, UCLA, DL, Sr.
Antoine Cason, Arizona, DB, Sr.
Wesley Woodyard, Kentucky, LB, Sr.

The winner of the Bednarik Award will be announced on December 6 during the Home Depot College Football Awards which will be broadcast on ESPN.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder