Dennis Erickson Named To Bear Bryant Award Watch List

Nov. 7, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University first-year head football coach Dennis Erickson has been named to the Watch List for the 2007 Bear Bryant Award, given annually to the nation's top college coach.

Erickson and the Sun Devils are currently 8-1 and bowl eligible for the fourth straight season. Erickson, now in his 20th season as a college coach, is 156-66-1 and has been named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year twice. ASU is currently #9 in the BCS Standings after previously earning their highest BCS rank ever at #4 earlier in the year.

Former Sun Devil head coach Bruce Snyder won the Bear Bryant Award following the 1996 season in which the Sun Devils finished the regular season 11-0.

The Bryant Watch List will be narrowed down to five to 10 finalists and announced live by Alabama football legend and former NFL player Kenny Stabler during a press conference in Houston on Dec. 12. The finalists will attend an awards dinner on Jan. 17, 2008, where the winner will be announced live. The winner of the Bryant College Coach of the Year is voted on by members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and is the only college coaching award given after all the bowl games have finished.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder