No. 3 Stanford Men's Swimming Continues to Roll at Nike Cup

Nov. 16, 2007

Long Beach, CA - With one day to go, the Stanford men's swimmers hold a hefty lead of 1372 points, followed by BYU at 637 and Air Force at 567. Friday's finals session began with yet another relay victory and meet record, as the Stanford squad of Eugene Godsoe, Paul Kornfeld, Jason Dunford and Austin Staab claimed the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:28.34. The record erased the 1:28.63 set by Stanford in 2003.

The 400 IM marked the first and only non-Stanford winner of the meet thus far, as University of Pacific's Krzysztof Zoldak won in a time of 3:51.32. Stanford freshman Josh Charnin-Aker was close behind in second with his 3:52.24.

The 100 fly saw a return of Stanford's winning ways as the one-two punch of Jason Dunford (46.90) and Austin Staab (47.31) claimed the top positions. Dunford's time was an automatic NCAA qualifier, the first of the season for him.

Not to be outdone, the freestylers one-upped the butterflyers by taking the top three spots with the trio of Daniel Beal (1:36.51), Phillip Morrison (1:38.71) and Andrew Trepp (1:39.42).

However, it was the breastroke group that had the last laugh, as Stanford took the first six, and seven of the top eight, positions in the 100 breastroke. Paul Kornfeld led the way with his 54.38, followed by Nate Cass in 54.45 and Paul Zaich at 55.16. Chris Ash (4th), John Criste (5th), Karl Boehringer (6th) and Egan Gans (8th) completed the nearly all-Cardinal heat with solid swims of their own.

Although he didn't have the luxury of such overwhelming backup, Eugene Godsoe represented the Cardinal well with his own win in the 100 backstroke (47.55).

The night was capped by an unorthodox win in the 800 free relay, as the Stanford 'A' team of David Mosko, Phillip Morrison, Andrew Trepp and Daniel Beal took first, although they had the second fastest time of 6:37.76. The best time? That was claimed by the Stanford 'B' team of Eugene Godsoe, Austin Staab, Josh Charnin-Aker and BJ Johnson as they finished in 6:33.58. Unfortunately, the 'B' swimmers were unofficial, as each team is only allowed one official entry per relay event. Either way, Stanford took the top spot and the top time between the two relays.

The competition comes to a conclusion tomorrow, Saturday the 17th, as Stanford looks to claim its fifth straight Nike Cup Victory. Finals begin at 6:00 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder